At Olympiaberg in Munich, every skier can find just the right slope. The highest hill in the city offers a variety of options for descending: gently descending slopes for everyone who wants to learn to ski and bobsled, and steep descents for those who like to fly across the snow.
The Olympic Park in northern Munich is well known beyond the borders of the capital city. The unique tent architecture of the buildings and the Olympic Tower are some of Munich’s well known landmarks. After the Olympic Games in 1972, a 300-hectare-sized park was developed into a recreation center for the entire city. Joggers, cyclists, and walkers take their laps here, and swimmers do lengths in the Olympic swimming facility.
At over 50 meters (150 feet) high, the Olympic Hill towers over the park grounds and is an ideal spot to enjoy a view of the roofs of Munich and to the mountains beyond.
"The Englische Garten (“English Garden”) is one of the largest urban parks in the world. The layout has undergone constant change throughout the centuries as new buildings and green spaces were added time and again.
The Deutsches Museum shows its impressive collection of track and road vehicles in a completely new light. Historical coaches or steam locomotives take you to the roots of mobility. Exhibits and demonstrations clarify the interaction between the pleasure and tribulations of mobility. Motion as the basic principle of life, from inline-skate to Transrapid, is another topic. The exhibition was opened in 2003 in the historic halls of the old Exhibition Center.
The baroque palace in the west part of Munich was the summer residence of the Bavarian monarchs. Five generations of Wittelsbach rulers were involved in the construction of this stately ensemble, which houses several outstanding collections. With its lavishly decorated interior and the famous "Gallery of Beauties" commissioned by Ludwig I, the palace is one of Munich's favorite attractions. Among the highlights are the former bedroom of King Ludwig II and the impressive banquet hall with fine ceiling frescoes by Johann Baptist Zimmermann.
The Nymphenburg Palace west of Munich is one of the largest royal palaces in Europe and is not to be missed on a sight-seeing tour through the Bavarian capital city. The oft-visited Baroque tourist attraction with it’s expansive landscaped garden and museum draws not only guests from around the world, but is also a beloved institution for Munich residents. In 1664, Prince Ferdinand Maria had the castle built as a present to his wife, who had borne him the long-awaited heir, Max Emanuel. Max Emanuel himself later played a significant role in expanding the palace layout.
The Neue Rathaus (New Town Hall) is a magnificent neo-gothic building from the turn of the century which architecturally dominates the north side of Munich’s Marienplatz.
The almost 100-meter-long (300 feet) main facade on Marienplatz is richly ornamented in neo-gothic style and shows almost the entire line of the house of Wittelsbach in Bavaria. The Glockenspiel in the tower balcony of the Neues Rathaus is also world famous and worth seeing. Since 1908, figurines representing stories from Munich’s history twirl on two levels daily at 11:00 a.m., 12:00 p.m., and 5:00 p.m. (the 5:00 p.m. show is omitted from November through February). In addition to the well-known coopers dancers, the Münchner Kindl (symbol of the city’s coat of arms), and the angel of peace also make an appearance in the almost 12-minute-long spectacle.
At the top of the 85-meter-high (255 feet) tower on the city hall is an observation deck that can be accessed with an elevator and offers a grandiose view of the roofs of the city, even as far as the Alps in nice weather. In the generous and richly painted cellar vault of the Neues Rathaus is the Ratskeller, a traditional Munich restaurant since 1867.
Marienplatz is the central square in Old Town, Munich’s urban heart and the central point of the pedestrian zone. To the north is the magnificent neo-Gothic Neues Rathaus (“New Town Hall”), to the east the Altes Rathaus (“Old Town Hall”), and the passageway to Tal and the Viktualienmarkt (farmers’ market). To the south, the square is bordered by stores, office buildings, and restaurants. To the west, the pedestrian zone opens to Kaufingerstraße, which ends at the Karlstor (gate) located at the square known by locals as Stachus.
Marienplatz has been the center of Munich since it was founded in 1158 and is the heart of the city. In the first few centuries, the approximately 100 x 50 meter large area was used as the central marketplace, which is attested to today by the fish fountain on the northeast corner of Marienplatz. In 1638 Elector Maximilian I had the Mariensäule (Mary’s Column) erected in gratitude for the city being spared during the Thirty Years’ War; Marienplatz takes its name from the Mariensäule. The column is used as a reference point in land surveying as the topological center of Bavaria. Today Marienplatz is a center for festivities and political, cultural, or sports events. During Advent, Munich’s oldest traditional Christmas market (“Christkindlmarkt”) takes place here.
The Munich Residence served as the seat of government and residence of the Bavarian dukes, electors and kings from 1508 to 1918. What began in 1385 as a castle in the north-eastern corner of the city (the Neuveste, or new citadel), was transformed by the rulers over the centuries into a magnificent palace, its buildings and gardens extending further and further into the town.
The rooms and art collections spanning a period that begins with the Renaissance, and extends via the early Baroque and Rococo epochs to Neoclassicism, bear witness to the discriminating taste and the political ambition of the Wittelsbach dynasty.
Much of the Residence was destroyed during the Second World War, and from 1945 it was gradually reconstructed. Today, with the museums of the Bavarian Palace Administration (the Residence Museum itself, the Treasury and the Cuvilliés Theatre) along with other cultural institutions, this is one of the largest museum complexes in Bavaria.
Outstanding works of European art and sculpture from the late 18th to the beginning of the 20th century are in the spotlight of the Neue Pinakothek. One focus is on the German art of the 19th century - this collection, which goes back to the private collection of King Ludwig I, is one of the most comprehensive of all.
Together with the Synagogue and the Jewish Community Center the Jewish Museum Munich forms part of the Jewish Center at St.-Jakobs-Platz. It is situated in immediate proximity to Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt.
Munich is the capital of beer - with six breweries, the Hofbräuhaus and the Oktoberfest. Interested in the story of beer? So go into the Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum.
Learn more about the history of beer from migration of peoples, the monasteries, the purity law, and the unique quality of Munich's beer. And what about the story of the Oktoberfest? Established as the national festival for King Luis's wedding with Princess Theresa from Sachsen Hildburghausen to the world's great fair. Moreover, you can visit one of Munich's historical buildings.
Exemplary pleasure palace with novel (for the time) ceiling frescoes.
Maximilian Emanuel's "hunting palace" was built to celebrate his marriage to the Emperor's daughter, Maria Antonia, in June 1685. The palace houses an outstanding collection of Meissen porcelain from the Ernst Schneider Foundation. The collection includes over 2,000 valuable plates, table centerpieces and animal figures, and is surpassed only by the collection in the Dresdner Zwinger Palace.
"The Kirche St. Peter (“Church of St. Peter”) is one of Munich’s landmarks, the oldest parish church in the city, and is known affectionately by the locals as Alter Peter (“Old Peter”). The church stands on a hill called Petersbergl, which is the only noteworthy elevation within the Munich’s historic Old Town.
The late Baroque Asam Church is located on Sendlingerstraße just a few minutes’ walk away from the Sendlinger Tor (Sendling Gate).
It was erected between 1733 and 1746 by the Asam brothers and bears the official name of St. Johann Nepomuk. Originally planned as a private church for the builder, its Baroque facade is integrated into the row of houses on Sendlingerstraße. Two massive rocks arise from the base of the columns at the entrance. The luxuriously furnished interior breaks from Baroque convention with its proportional distribution.
The castle, located above Landshuts and visible from afar, has only been called "Trausnitz" since the 16th century. Until then, it had the same name as the city itself. According to this, the castle was to grant the country "protection" and protection.
Under Ludwig the Kelheimer, the founder of Burg and Stadt Landshut in 1204 and an important historical figure at the time of the Crusades, the Wittelsbach main castle had grown to the extent of today's core castle. In 1235, when Emperor Friedrich II was visiting Landshut, the castle was essentially completed.
Today the tour takes visitors to the castle through medieval halls such as the impressive vaulted hall of the Alten Dürnitz and the castle chapel with their important sculptural decoration and the winged altars of the rich dukes. Arched cabinets, panelled parlours and the famous stairway with the monumental painted scenes from the Italian Commedia dell'arte represent the era of the Renaissance. The culmination of the castle tour is the view from the Söller on the city.
In 1418, Ludwig the Bearded laid the foundation stone for the Neue Veste (New Citadel), in the centre of which rises the Neues Schloss. Today, 17 richly decorated cannons in the castle courtyard reflect the scale of the weapons arsenal at that time.
The most beautiful of all the city's preserved gates, the cross gate, leads from the west into the Old Town. Four small corner towers and sparingly used limestone decorations embellish the red brick gateway tower from the late 14th century, a Romantic witness to medieval architecture.
St Matthäus Church was the first Protestant parish church in Ingolstadt and is the oldest Bavarian church built in this style. The church has a brick architecture typical of the era in which it was built and a striking façade with a single tower. Situated close to the venerable Franciscan Basilica, it still lends a particular appeal to the squares around Schrannenstrasse and Holzmarkt today.
The mountain at the heart of Innsbruck. The Nordkette is part of Austria’s largest nature park, the Karwendel Nature Park, and can be reached directly from Innsbruck city centre in just a few minutes! The breathtaking 360° view leaves a lasting impression, with the capital of the Alps on one side and Tyrol’s most extensive conservation area on the other.
The Hungerburg funicular enables visitors to reach the Hungerburg in just 8 minutes. There are several stops along the way including the Alpine Zoo, which is a favorite among families. After reaching the Hungerburg station, a short walk across Hermann Buhl Square, named after the world-famous Austrian mountaineer, leads visitors to the cable car station.
The Hafelekar Run is one of the steepest ski runs in Europe. With an incline of 70%, this ski run is reserved for extremely good riders. When the powder is at its best, it is more likely for some locals to be at the Hafelekar than at the workplace. The run for all those who like the extreme!
The location of the Nordkette Single Trail in high-alpine terrain directly above the rooftops of Innsbruck, make it unique worldwide. Riders experience an interplay of steep curves, rock jumps and root passages integrated with northshores and drops.
It takes about 20 minutes to get from the Seegrube Station to the Nordkette Climbing Arena. There are approximately 40 tours which are mainly single-rope routes at the UIAA difficulty levels 4 – 9, which means they are suitable for both beginner and advanced-level climbers.
Also experience the Innsbruck Fixed Rope Climbing Route.The best of the best have climbed on these rocks including mountain legend Hermann Buhl and also Hannes Gasser, who this route is named after. Climb in the footsteps of these climbing greats and experience unique mountain adventure.
A mighty brown bear roams around its enclosure. A few paces away, otters swim and splash nimbly through the water and a bearded vulture looks down at visitors from high up in a tree. Food? No, don’t worry. It’s well fed and has found a safe haven in the Alpine Zoo. For the animals of the Alps are no less endangered than species from the savanna, jungle and desert. The Alpine Zoo does a great deal for the conservation of biodiversity, providing a home for animals native to the mountains, such as birds of prey, chamois and marmots. Visitors can observe these animals up close – a highlight for the entire family and also well worth a visit for adults!
When the church bells ring in Innsbruck, the wolves at the Alpine Zoo howl along in unison. The graceful lynx remain calm in comparison but become louder to mark their territory during the mating season in February. Their neighbour, the golden eagle, shows no interest at all. Did you know that this species was nearly wiped out in the 19th century? A fate it shares with other animals at the zoo, such as brown bears, wolves and bearded vultures. Some species have now recovered thanks to breeding programmes and reintroduction into the wild, which has included animals from the Alpine Zoo.
From the city centre to the largest nature park in Austria in just 20 minutes! The breathtaking 360° views with Innsbruck on one side and the Karwendel Nature Park on the other are sure to leave a lasting impression.
The modern Hungerburgbahn funicular takes you from the historic old town to the Hungerburg district, via the stop for the Alpine Zoo, in just eight minutes. From there, you cross Hermann-Buhl-Platz square, which is named after the world-famous Austrian mountaineer, and continue to the lift that runs up to the Seegrube. The Seegrube is located at an altitude of 1,905 metres above sea level and attracts daring mountaineers in summer and winter alike. Thanks to the direct connections to the city, everyone can also continue up to the Hafelekar – an absolute highlight at 2,300 metres above sea level with impressive panoramic views and natural alpine surroundings. Visitors can often catch a glimpse of the normally shy wildlife, but the real highlight is the unique panorama of city and mountains which leaves nothing to be desired.
The Imperial Palace was completed in the year 1500 under Emperor Maximilian I (1459-1519). The palace was built to the same scale as is seen today and was captured as a watercolour by Albrecht Dürer. he painting shows a late Gothic courtyard with covered staircase, a Crest Tower and the women’s quarters (or “women’s rooms”). The reception area, which is known today as the “Gothic Cellar”, was built in the style of a large hall with columns and vaults. A “Kürnstube” (home to Maximilian’s hunting trophies), the “Silver chamber” (treasury) and the Festival Hall (with depictions of Hercules) are also reminders of the time.
The “Rennplatz” square in front of the Imperial Palace served as a competition arena to please the sports-loving Emperor.
Almost 250 years later, Maria Theresa (1717-1780) visited the Innsbruck palace and deemed it to be behind the times. There hadn’t been any Tyrolean princes since 1665 and the governor, who reigned Tyrol on behalf of the Emperor, lived in the governor’s quarters on the first floor. The representation rooms on the second floor, which were reserved for the Imperial family, were uninhabited. Maria Theresa arranged for the palace to be rebuilt in the Viennese late Baroque style and sent her best artists to Innsbruck: Konstantin von Walter and Nicolaus Parcassi. Martin van Meytens and his school and Franz Anton Maulbertsch were appointed for the interior. The renovations were interrupted by the Seven Years’ War and, therefore, only completed in the 1770s.
Innsbruck's most famous landmark shines in the heart of the historic old town. The splendid alcove balcony gets its name from the 2,657 fire-gilded copper tiles that adorn the roof. The building has reigned over medieval houses and shady arcades for over 500 years. It was built by Emperor Maximilian who very much enjoyed the view: from there he would look down over the colourful hustle and bustle of his city, watch jousting tournaments and be revered from below. The shining golden roof can be seen on entering the historic old town but it is also well worth taking a look up close. The structure below the roof is richly adorned with a wide variety of figures and images, including many curiosities.
An exposed backside sticks prominently out from the Golden Roof. Admittedly, it is only a few centimetres in size and it belongs to one of the many figures set below the roof. Why bare facts? This question remains unanswered and is one of the many mysteries that surround the landmark. Maybe the revenge of medieval craftsmen who weren't paid? We can only speculate.
The front of the structure is decorated with a man and two wives: Emperor Maximilian is portrayed next to his wife of the time Bianca Maria Sforza. He didn't like her much, however, and that is why his first wife – Maria von Burgund – also looks out from the relief.
Another eye-catcher: Small men with twisted limbs. They are morisco dancers, who were effectively the breakdancers of the Middle Ages.
The Golden Roof is a must-see for anyone visiting Innsbruck. Come to the historic old town and see for yourself. You can't miss it. In the adjoining museum, you can immerse yourself in the time of Emperor Maximilian.
The Court Church is also known by locals as “Schwarzmander Church” thanks to the 28 life-size bronze figures that stand guard, watching over the tomb of Emperor Maximilian I. Strange but true: eight of the “Black Men” (Schwarzmander) are actually women and the Emperor’s tomb is empty. But this beautifully crafted masterpiece is still a work of art and wonderful to behold.
The Emperor’s tomb takes pride of place in the church. However, the building is also home to legendary local heroes, such as freedom fighter Andreas Hofer. In 1809, Andreas Hofer led thousands of brave Tyroleans against the superior force of Napoleonic troops on Bergisel. He was executed for this in Mantua but is still revered as a hero in Innsbruck. The Court Church is also the final resting place of his fellow soldiers Josef Speckbacher, Joachim Haspinger and Kajetan Sweth.
The Silver Chapel is a highlight that shouldn’t be missed on a visit to the Court Church. Two additional famous people from Innsbruck are buried here: Archduke Ferdinand II and his wife Philippine Welser. She was a local superstar during her lifetime: the “Queen of Hearts”, a herbal expert and a bathing beauty who was even accused of witchcraft by malicious tongues. A magnificent silver alter and Madonna by imperial architect Giovanni Lucchese is the main feature of the room alongside another special piece: an organ with pipes made exclusively of wood.
Look out over the rooftops of Innsbruck as the tower guards once did in the Middle Ages. Guards kept watch from the City Tower for almost 450 years, warning citizens of fire and other dangers. The lower storeys also once served as a prison. Today, the tower is there for visitors to enjoy. Over 133 steps lead up to the 31-metre-high viewing platform, which overlooks the medieval streets of Innsbruck and offers stunning views of Bergisel, Patscherkofel mountain, the River Inn and the Nordkette mountain range.
The City Tower is a good 50 years older than the Golden Roof. It was completed in 1450 on the side of the old town hall. It doesn’t seem huge in comparison with modern buildings but 51 metres was very impressive in 1450 and the tower was a proud symbol of the self-confidence of the people of Innsbruck. The onion dome was added 100 years after its completion. Today, the tower still rises up majestically from amongst the medieval buildings in the old town – providing a good vantage point and a romantic view of Innsbruck.
World famous & wonderful: Swarovski Crystal Worlds, located just 20 kilometres east of the Capital of the Alps, awaits with new and exciting attractions.
Between 2013 and 2015, the worlds of art and culture, entertainment and shopping were extended to cover an area of 7.5 hectares. The “Home of the Giant” now inspires with a new poetic garden, which features a unique Crystal Cloud made from 800,000 hand-mounted and enchanted floating crystals. This mystical masterpiece is the largest of its kind worldwide and with it Swarovski has set the new standard for brilliantly implemented installations. The Crystal Cloud draws visitors to the Mirror Pool where the sparkling light of the crystals is captured to form a sea of stars both day and night.
Take a stroll, do a bit of shopping, meet friends, sit at one of the many outdoor cafés, admire the magnificent Baroque architecture and savour the city panorama. This is Maria Theresien Street today. But when the street was founded over 700 hundred years ago, there were only a few farm houses here in the New Town. Life still revolved around the Old Town, which was surrounded by powerful medieval city walls and was only accessible from Maria Theresien Street through the St. Jörgen Gate. Today, this marks the start of Herzog Friedrich Straße – the road that leads to the Golden Roof.
However, is wasn’t long before members of the aristocracy began building homes just outside the city gates. The location was much more practical thanks to its close proximity to the local rulers of the time – and the new townhouses were also much more comfortable than the draughty old castles outside of town. During the Baroque period, many of these new houses were converted into magnificent palatial residences. And they are still a delight to behold today, for example Palais Gumpp, the seat of the Tyrolean government, or Palais Trapp directly opposite with its enchanting inner courtyard and café.
Casino Innsbruck is rightly considered one of the most popular casinos in Austria. This is ensured by its privileged location in the centre of Innsbruck, impressive architecture, tasteful interior in its spacious rooms and, of course, the hospitality of its employees. All guests enjoy this exciting casino games, state-of-the-art range of slot machines, gourmet delicacies and top-notch events.
Casino Innsbruck was opened in 1992 and is rightly considered one of the most beautiful casinos in the world. Its favourable location amidst the Tyrolean mountains, its impressive architecture, the tasteful interior in the spacious rooms and of course the warmth of its employees ensure this.
Thanks to its outstanding geographical location, Casino Innsbruck serves the most important markets like Italy, Germany, Switzerland and western Austria. It is just 120 km from Bolzano to Innsbruck, 165 km from Munich and 280 km from Zurich.
Ambras Castle Innsbruck is one of the main attractions in Innsbruck, the capital of the Alps. Its cultural and historic significance is inseparable from the personality of Archduke Ferdinand II (1529-1595), who promoted the arts and sciences as a true Renaissance prince. He established the magnificent Ambras collections and had a museum facility built in the lower castle to house them, designed according to modern criteria from the time.
The exhibition attempts to reconstruct the Archduke’s chamber of art & curiosities, his armoury, his collection of armour from famous heroes and his collection of antiquities. In Ferdinand’s time, the living quarters were located in the upper castle.
Today, the upper castle is home to the Habsburg Portrait Gallery, which features portraits from Albert III (1349-1395) to Emperor Francis I (1768-1835) over three storeys. The collection contains over 200 portraits, including valuable works by famous artists, such as Lukas Cranach, Anton Mor, Tizian, van Dyck and Diego Velásquez.
The ground floor of the upper castle houses a collection of late medieval sculptures and the centrepiece is the St George’s altar that belonged to Emperor Maximilian I.
Towering high above Innsbruck on the wooded Bergisel Hill, the brand-new Bergisel Ski Jump is a sight to behold.
The Tower stands 47 meters tall and provides spectacular views.
he new facilities now can hold 28,000 spectators. Each year, the refurbished Bergisel Stadium plays host to the annual Four Hills Tournament in January and to a Summer Grand Prix Jumping Event.
All Bergisel Stadium facilities, including gondola, elevator, panoramic café, and vantage spot on the jumping platform are open to visitors. From the stylish Restaurant there are uninterrupted panoramic views of the lofty surrounding peaks of Patscherkofel, Nordkette, Hohe Munde and Serles.
This magnificent palace emerged from the buildings of the former Benedictine monastery of St. Emmeram. In connection with the abolition of the postal rights the royal house of Thurn and Taxis purchased the greatest part of the monastery buildings in 1810 and extended them to make them their permanent residence.
Today, after numerous additions and alterations, you can admire the three-section building complex dating from the 13th century which consists of the Town Hall tower, the Gothic Imperial Chamber building and the baroque Town Hall. From 1663 to 1806 the Perpetual Imperial Assembly met in the Imperial Chamber. It was there that the well-known expressions “to put something on the long bench” (to postpone something) and “to sit at the green table” (to take important decisions) originated.
One of the oldest town halls in Germany and witness to the historical change in Jena. Admire the astronomical clock from the 15th century and "Schnapphans" (snatching Hans), one of the "Seven Wonders" of Jena.
A Wonder of the World: The Stone Bridge. The people of Regensburg were obviously brilliant bridge-builders way back in the 12th century. The “Bruckmandl” however, the little statue on the bridge, didn’t take up his breezy position there till the middle of the 16th century.
Known to Innsbruck residents as a “locals’ mountain” and a three-time Olympic venue, the Patscherkofel ski resort continues to draw wintersports enthusiasts of all kinds.
With its pistes 1,400 metres above Innsbruck, fabulous views of the Inn Valley and rich sporting history, the Patscherkofel mountain and the ski resort it is home to are legendary within Tirol and beyond. This mighty mountain to the south of the regional capital hosted the Winter Olympics in 1964 and 1976 as well as the inaugural Winter Youth Olympic Games in 2012. Innsbruck locals appreciate the resort's proximity to the city, which is just a 15-minute drive away. One of the main highlights is without a doubt the large snowpark, where budding freestylers gather to dial in their tricks. The resort also has three children's areas at different altitudes, while from the top cable car station ski touring enthusiasts can climb all the way to the summit at 2,248m. Even those who don't fancy the extra few hundred vertical metres can still look forward to a 6km-long run down to the bottom of the resort along piste number 3.
The Archaeological Park (APC) in Kempten invites you on a journey of discovery to the oldest city in Germany mentioned in writing. Temple district, small thermal baths, forum with basilica - a large part of the former Roman provincial capital is still recognizable thanks to unique archaeological finds on the high bank of the Iller in Kempten. From the veneration of pagan gods to ancient architecture to bath culture in the Roman Empire, the accompanying exhibition provides an exciting insight into everyday life two millennia ago.
The Zumsteinhaus will be designed and designed as Exhibit No. 1 of the museum so that, after successful renovation, it can reveal much about its history, its first inhabitants and its use at that time.
192 metres! Bungee jumping from the Europabrücke bridge is a truly thrilling and unforgettable experience.
Since Rupert Hirner's first jump on 3 October 1993, this famous structure has been transformed into an ultimate highlight of the bungee-jumping world: thousands of daredevils have already taken the leap into the valley below and one of the world's most spectacular bungee jumps is now open to visitors on more than 60 days of the year!
The Salzburg Open-Air Museum lies in the middle of Untersberg Nature Park, close to Salzburg City. On an area of around 50 hectares, it documents rural buildings, lifestyles and aspects of the rural economy from the 16th to the 20th century.
Here, just outside Salzburg, visitors are able to experience authentic farmhouses, the homes of craftsmen, mills, barns, a smithy and even a sawmill. In total, the Open-Air Museum presents over 100 real buildings, spread across 5 distinct areas representing each of Salzburger Land’s different regions. Demonstrations of a wide range of traditional crafts as well as seasonal folk events (including an Easter market, raising of the Maypole etc.) turn any visit to the museum into a truly interactive experience.
Giant dinosaurs from prehistoric times come together at the Haus der Natur with milestones of space travel, diverse underwater worlds and reptiles from the most distant corners of the globe. The journey into the human body is guaranteed to astonish you, as will the interactive experiments in the Science Center.
The Haus der Natur in Salzburg is one of the biggest magnets for the general public in the city. Roaming through the museum, visitors discover the most fascinating aspects of Mother Nature. Right at the entrance, giant dinosaurs show us what the world must have looked like millions of years ago. And only a few steps away, a view out into the endless universe gives us insights into milestones of space travel.
Mirabell Palace was built in 1606 by prince-archbishop Wolf Dietrich for his beloved Salome Alt. Today, it serves as the backdrop for the most romantic weddings you could possibly imagine.
Mirabell Palace looks back on a colorful history. Today, Mirabell Palace is home to municipal offices as well as those of the mayor of Salzburg. Mirabell Gardens – Baroque pleasure gardens in the heart of the city. They were completely redesigned under archbishop Johann Ernst von Thun in 1690. The underlying geometric form, which is typical for the Baroque, is still clearly recognizable. The visual orientation towards the cathedral and fortress adds to the grandeur of the gardens – simultaneously incorporating them into the overall historical ensemble of the city.
Mirabell Gardens, along with the Felsenreitschule and Nonnberg Convent, is one of the most important shooting locations from the famous Hollywood musical “The Sound of Music”. In the film, Maria and the children dance around the Pegasus Fountain in front of the palace, singing the song “Do Re Mi”. At the end of the scene, the Trapp family stand on the steps in front of the Rose Hill and sing the song’s final bars. At the same time, viewers are enchanted by unique views across Mirabell Gardens towards the fortress.
The Getreidegasse is the bustling heart of Salzburg’s Old City, its unmistakable charm as well as Mozart’s Birthplace making it an irresistible destination for countless visitors from around the world. Aside from an array of international fashion chains, the Getreidegasse also charms passers-by with its traditional inns and unique businesses steeped in history.
Through-houses are very typical of the Salzburg historical district. The front and back of the buildings let directly out onto different streets, with an arcaded passageway connecting the two. Today, they often also feature artworks, art galleries and shops. The most famous of these is at the Schatz House, leading from No. 3 Getreidegasse to University Square. There, in a dark corner, you will encounter a poignant relief depicting the Madonna with the infant Jesus.