Visitors can go inside the statue, and from the inside of the horse's head, they have a panoramic view of the surroundings and reconstituted Mongolian village. The site also has a museum that shows an exhibition about the Bronze Age and the archaeological culture of the Xiongnus in Mongolia. The visitor will discover usual utensils, belt buckles, knives, sacred animals, etc. The second exhibition covers the period of the 13th and 14th centuries, when the Mongolian Empire was at its height, with tools, goldsmith subjects, crosses, and rosaries.
This is one of the oldest museums which was founded in 1924 as the National Central Museum. In 1956 it was renamed the State Central Museum and in 1997 it became the Museum of Natural History.
Today there are departments of Geography, Geology, Flora and Fauna, and Paleontology in the museum. Displays of stuffed and embalmed animals including the rare Gobi bear and wild camel, birds, and fish will give you a good idea about the rich fauna of Mongolia.
Most impressive is the Paleontology section. There are petrified eggs and bones of many dinosaurs that lived in the Gobi desert 60-70 million years ago and two complete skeletons of the flesh-eating giant Tarbosaurus and the duck-billed Saurolophus.
Petrified bones of 5 kinds of dinosaurs out of 7 that are known today have been discovered in Mongolia. The museum also has samples of various minerals that are found in the country.
Gandan is the largest and most significant monastery in Mongolia and one of Ulaanbaatar 's most interesting sights.
Built in the mid 19th century, it is the only monastery where Buddhist services continued to function even during the communist past. Temples are flocked by visitors during religious services that start at 10 a.m. and last until midday.
The Migjid Janraisig Temple is an important part of the Gandan Monastery. The temple houses the majestic new gilded statue of Migjid Janraisig, decorated with jewels. This 26-meter high 20-ton statue is a copy of another statue that was destroyed in the 1920s by communists. The statue was built with donations of Mongolian people as a symbol of Buddhist revival in the mid-1990s.
This tall landmark in front of the city offers the best views of Ulaanbaatar and the surrounding nature. The large monuments on the top of the hill were erected for the memory of soldiers died in World War II.
Zaisan Hill is a perfect blend of modern architecture and tradition and history. Until recently, it was most well-known for the Zaisan Hill Monument atop the hill, a beautiful circular structure with a mural honoring allied Mongol and Soviet soldiers who fell during World War II. Now the hill is also home to a sprawling modern complex with plenty of amenities for tourists and residents alike.
This is the main square in the heart of Ulaanbaatar. A large statue of Sukhbaatar, the famous patriot characterizes the square, and the square is named after this historic figure. Such important buildings as the Parliament House, Stock Exchange, the Drama Theater and Cultural Palace are located surrounding the square.
Sukhbaatar square was formed in the early part of the XIX century by the name of the Great Universe. The northern edge of the Great Pleasure was the Yellow Castle (south of the existing Child Center Center), the southern edge of the Choijin Lama Temple, the left and right sides of the monastery, and the lords.
The design of the monument D. Sukhbaatar's statue was created by sculptor Ch. Boghola. The draft of the statue, depicted on the cliffs of the jujube, is on February 23, 1946, by the Council of Ministers and the Central Committee of the MPRP 13/3. According to the decree, the statue was built shortly in the centre of the Indians and opened on the 8th of July 1946 on the 25th anniversary of the People's Revolution. Since then, Indra Square was renamed Sukhbaatar square.
The four-meter tall statue of granite, made of granite, was set at a height of 12 meters above the base of a sunny, high-rise staircase. On the sides of the concrete roof, the revolutionary event is emblazoned on the left side: "Our country unites unity and unites a single force, united where there is no place to go, and no one can know and can not find pleasure in pleasure. we have the courage to know our hearts. " The 14 statues of white lions connected to the outside of the statue were symbolically placed on the exterior of the statue of the 14 white lions.
The Choijin Lama Temple, built in 1904-1908 is a classic example of the traditional Buddhist architecture. This was the home of Luvsan Haidav Choijin Lama, brother of Bogd Khaan and a prominent lama. The museum is famous for its collection of Buddhist artworks, original silk icons, and tsam dancing masks.
VIII Bogd Jazzundamba Khutagt Choijin Lama, a Chinggikh lama monastery built by 1904-1908 in the design and management of the Imperial Palace architect, and over 300 best craftsmen in Mongolia. In total, 88779 lan or 1821.2 kg of net money was spent on the construction of this church.
Luvsansmddava was born in Tibet in 1872 and came to Mongolia in 1876. In 1905, he named the Church of the Emperor of Manchu to give a name to his temple. He called the "Temple of forgiveness."
One of the features of the Church is the depiction of the enemy head, lungs, and heart of the enemy. This is the idea of the mascot of the religious enemies of the religion.
Since 1938, the Choijin monastery has closed its activities in 1938 and has been open to the public since 1942, as a religious museum, special guests and foreign delegates.
Today, the Choijin Lama Temple is comprised of the Jambai Gate, the Mahrahar Temple, the Gate of Khuderati, the main temple, the Zanhang Temple, the Zuu Temple, the Yadam Temple, the mosque, and the temple.
Terelj National Park is the most popular destination and the third biggest protected area in Mongolia. Visitors can take leisurely strolls on meadows carpeted with edelweiss and a dazzling variety of other wildflowers, view fascinating rock formations against a backdrop of pine-covered mountains and wander along the wooded banks of a mountain stream. The park is located 80 km away from Ulaanbaatar and is one of the most beautiful places in Mongolia. There are also a huge number of adventure activities such as rafting, riding, hiking, skiing, camping.
Yungang Grottoes, one of the three major cave clusters in China, punctuate the north cliff of Wuzhou Mountain in Datong. The area around the mountain was excavated revealing 53 caves and over 51,000 stone statues.
This stunning pagoda is the oldest and highest wooden structure in China. Regarded as the ‘First Pagoda in the World’ and a gem in the architectural field, it was built during the Liao Dynasty (about 1056), and has been around for about 900 years.
Etched into the side of a mountain’s foot on a high cliff hemmed in by a precipice on either side, the Overhanging Temple, was built during the Northern Wei Dynasty (386-534). From the bottom visitors can see range upon range of pavilions supported by dozens of wooden pillars.
Located around 85 kilometers away from Beijing is one of China’s largest dams as well as a gigantic dragon escalator.Seemingly out of place against the cliffs in the background, the bright yellow dragon rises 258 meters and is the world’s largest outdoor escalator. Once at the top of the gorge, you can engage in even more adventures, including a ride in a cable car or a boat trip on the artificial lake.
Mutianyu Great Wall is located 70 km away from Beijing, which makes it significantly less busy and features some fun, modern amusements, such as a cable car, chairlift, and toboggan. It has unique design and construction, having 3 enemy towers build next to each other. When visiting, each season bring their own beauty to the scenery. From green mountains and flowers to snowy mountain tops tops and autumn leaves.
The Summer Palace is said to be the most well-preserved imperial gardens and the largest of its kind still in existence in China. There’s so much to see and enjoy that most people prefer to stay there at least half a day. Composed mainly of Longevity Hill and Kunming Lake, it owns over 3,000 man-made ancient structures, including pavilions, towers, bridges, corridors, etc. On the grounds of the Palace you will be able to walk through 'The Long Corridor' which is the longest corridor in the world.
The Forbidden City, also known as the Palace Museum, lies in the city center of Beijing, and was once the Chinese imperial palace of the Ming and Qing Dynasties (1368 - 1911). It was listed as a World Heritage Site in 1987 and is the largest, best-preserved ancient timber-built palace complex in the world.Rectangular in shape, the Forbidden City is enormous, covering an area of 72 hectares, and boasting more than 9,000 bays of rooms. It is divided into two parts – the Outer Court for national affairs in the south and the Inner Court as living quarters in the north. It is not only an immense architectural masterpiece, but also a treasury housing a unique collection of 1.8 million pieces of art, including ancient calligraphy and painting, imperial artifacts, ancient books and archives. A must-see in Beijing and the world’s most visited museum, it is worth spending half to one day to visit the Forbidden City and appreciate the precious cultural heritage of China.
The Bijia Mountain is a small land-tied island located in the Liaodong Bay, adjacent to the Jinzhou Port. Measuring 1.5 kilometer in length and 0.8 kilometer in width, the island covers an area of about one square kilometer, at an altitude of 78 meters.
One of the few springwater lakes in a Chinese city, the lake has been a nationally famous scenic spot since the Tang Dynasty (AD 618-907) for its picturesque view with a ring of lakeside ancient pavilions, residences and temples.
The Baotu Spring is a culturally significant artesian karst spring located in the city of Jinan, Shandong Province, China. It is mentioned in the Spring and Autumn Annals, one of the Five Classics of Chinese literature and was declared the “Number One Spring under the Heaven” by the Qing Dynasty Emperor Qian Long.
The temple, cemetery and family mansion of Confucius, the great philosopher, politician and educator of the 6thñ5th centuries B.C., are located at Qufu, in Shandong Province. Built to commemorate him in 478 B.C., the temple has been destroyed and reconstructed over the centuries; today it comprises more than 100 buildings.
Only a twenty-minute drive away from Qufu, it’s an absolute gem with its graceful halls and pavilions and ancient juniper and cypress trees standing amid its peaceful courtyards. If there is indeed a place to celebrate the innate goodness of the human spirit, then this it!
Built in 1395, Gyeongbokgung Palace is also commonly referred to as the Northern Palace because its location is furthest north when compared to the neighboring palaces of Changdeokgung (Eastern Palace) and Gyeonghuigung (Western Palace) Palace. Gyeongbokgung Palace is arguably the most beautiful, and remains the largest of all five palaces.
The Seoul Museum of History is the only museum in Korea that represents the city’s history and culture. Since its establishment on the former site of Gyeonghuigung Palace in 2002, the museum has offered visitors the chance to experience 600 years of Seoul’s history and culture through interactive exhibitions. The three-story museum is divided thematically into three exhibition areas, including a special exhibition area, a permanent exhibition area and a hall that exhibits collections donated by the public.
The museum offers accessible and interactive exhibitions to the public with various hands-on programs. For example, visitors are allowed to touch and explore the exhibits on display, which are replicas of originals in the museum. In addition, the museum offers the U-Exhibit Guidance System, an automatic translator (various languages are available) for visitors, which makes every tour convenient and interesting.
Dream Forest is the fourth largest park in Seoul, after the World Cup Park, Olympic Park and Seoul Forest, and has become a part of the lives of 2.67million residents of six districts, Gangbuk, Seongbuk, Dobong, Nowon, Dongdaemun and Jungnang.
In the heart of the forest is a large lake named Wallyoungji, with the 7 m-high Wallgwang Waterfall and the pavilion Aewalljeong, not to mention grasslands twice the size of the Seoul Plaza. Situated on the rim of Wallyoungji stands the traditional Korean hanok building, Changnyeonggungjaesa (No. 40 Registered Cultural Property), in its entire classical splendor.
The 49.7 m Observatory overlooking downtown Seoul is a special attraction point. The breathtaking ridges of Bukhansan(Mt.), Dobongsan(Mt.) and Suraksan(Mt.) roll out to the north, and Mt. Nam and the River Han majestically fill the scenery to the south. Five different wild flower gardens have been created behind the parking lot, such as Suro Garden, Sagaewon, Brown Garden and Hwamokwon, and the Chilpokchi, a waterfall with seven streams, is also worth experiencing.
The National Center for Korean Traditional Performing Arts is a national music agency that has been established to transmit and develop traditional music and dance. It is conducting various activities related to gukak performances and gukak itself.
Daming temple was initially erected in 457 to 464 A.D of the Southern Song Dynasty. During the changes of dynasties, the temple had several name changes and were demolished at least three times by fire or by political chaos.
As the most famous tourist attraction in Yangzhou, Slender West Lake in the north part of the city covers about 100 hectares.It was named a national key scenic spot in 1988 and a national 5A-level tourist zone in 2010.
The garden is one of the four most well-known classic Chinese gardens. It is closely laid out and famous for its piled rocks. The garden was originally the home for the Monk Shi Tao, a famous Buddhist Monk and painter in the Qing Dynasty.
Discover everything from ancient civilizations to the early days of the Republic in exhibitions, displays and performances. Being one of the first museums to be established in China, it is also one of the largest.
Located at the foot of Yuping Hill to ther west of Jingdong county seat, the temple was constructed in the 21st year (1682) of the Kangxi Reign of the Qing Dynasty and is one of the province-level protected historic relics in Yunnan.
Going back to the 14th century this historic landmark is a symbol of Nanjing’s time as the capital of the Ming Dynasty between 1368 and 1421.
Founder of the Ming Dynasty Emperor Zhu Yuanzhang ordered its building to protect Nanjing from invaders.
Purple Mountain, Xuanwu Lake and Qinhuai River provided additional natural defences as the Wall snaked around them. The curved Wall was unusual, as up until then city walls had been built in straight lines. Completed in 1386, Nanjing is one of the few cities to retain its original walls. Making the state-protected Ming Great Wall a national treasure.
The Ming Great Wall was 35 kilometres long. It was considered to be one of the longest city walls in the world. Today about 25 kilometres are still intact with the following six sections being opened to the public:
Zhonghua Men (Treasure Gate) to Shen Ce Men Gate (Peace Gate). It is approximately 6 kilometres long.
Zhong Shan Gate (Zhong Shan Men) to Guanghua East Street (Guang Hua Dong Jie), it is approximately 2 kilometres.
East Water Gate (Dong Shui Guan) to West Water Gate (Xi Shui Guan), it is approximately 6 kilometres.
Qing Ling Mountain (Qing Ling Shan) to Defense Garden (Guo Fang Yuan), it is approximately 1 kilometre.
Ding Huai Gate (Ding Huai Men) to Lion Mountain (Shi Zi Shan), it is approximately 4 kilometres.
Zhong Fu Road (Zhong Fu Lu) to Zhong Yang Gate (Zhong Yang Men), it is approximately 2 kilometres.
Mt. Chi Zhu has a legendary story. It is said that Mr. Gan Jiang and Ms. Mo Ye (Gan Jiang’s wife) set ovens and made swords in Spring and Autumn period. The remains of “Quenching stone”, “Whetstone” are well preserved. It is recorded that Gan Jiang was buried in Mt. Chi Zhu. Mr. Li Jing, Earl in Tang Dynasty, put down a rebellion in the nearby.
Situated in the backyard of Jiuhua Palace in Zheshan Park, Zhe Pagoda can be dated back to Song Dynasty in 1065. It is regarded as the key relics preservation in Anhui province. The Pagoda is surrounded by hills and trees. It is worthwhile taking a one-day trip in the downtown with other attractions like Guangji Temple, Shutian Pavilion, Cuiming Garden, Mr. Liu Xiping’s graveyard, lieutenant General Dai Anlan’s graveyard.
China Dinosaur Park is located at the Modern Tourism & Recreation Park in Xinbei district of Changzhou, which was built in 1997 and opened to the public on September 20th, 2000. Also known as"OrientalJurassicPark", China Dinosaur Park covers a total area of over 600 mu, which perfectly combines museum, hi-tech acoustic, optic and electric technology, special video effects and multimedia network, and integrates exhibition, science popularization, entertainment, leisure and participatory performances.
Reputed as “Number One Monastery in Southeast China,” Tianning Temple is located beside the Grand Canal and the Hongmei Park, which is the largest and most well-reserved ancient temple in Changzhou, covering an area of over 130 mu.
Tianmu Lake Tourist Resort is ranked among the first batch of National AAAA Scenic Spots, which is on the border among Jiangsu, Anhui and Zhejiang provinces. It consists of two strips of water area, lying on either side of Dongling Mountain. The source of Tianmu Lake connects with Tianmu Mountain and flows for 13.5 kilometers. The lake has an average depth of 10 meters and reaches the deepest at 28 meters. The lake water mainly came from rainwater and mountain streams, which have been purified by the vegetation of surrounding mountains and filtered by the underwater stones before running into the lake; therefore, Tianmu Lake has maintained the purity and mineral composition of natural spring, the water of which reaches National Class B for surface water and is considered as the best water within Jiangsu province.
Tianmu Lake is located about 60 to 200 kilometres away from Shanghai, Nanjing, Hangzhou, Suzhou, Wuxi and Changzhou, reputed as the “Eco-Home and Dreamy Paradise”, the “Southern Pearl and Green Wonderland.” Surrounded by mountains, Tianmu Lake Resort boasts crystal clear water and pleasant climate, with vegetation coverage of 45% or more, which has become a “back garden” and “natural oxygen bar” of the peripheral cities, suitable for visiting in over 300 days a year.
One of the rare free museums in town, the original Shanghai Postal Museum in Hongkou well explains the history of the postal service in China. Venture up to the beautiful baroque rooftop to find a sculpted garden with a Romanesque clock tower and one of the city’s best low-level views: looking west up Suzhou Creek and east towards the Pudong skyline with the Art Deco Broadway Mansions in front.
The spectacular ten-storey Shanghai Grand Theatre showcases a variety of musical, dance and dramatic acts under it's instantly recognisable curved roof in People’s Square. The theatre itself is divided into three separate auditoriums, the largest of which, The Lyric Theatre is home to ballet performances such as Swan Lake, orchestral concerts and traditional Peking opera from the China National Peking Opera Company. The box office is open from 9am-7pm daily, see schedule for opening times of individual shows.
Hang out in the old haunt of Fujian fruit merchants at the Sanshan Guildhall – one of many guildhalls to pop-up in the city for traders to seek camaraderie. Though it’s been shifted 30 metres south from its original position, this relatively late addition (built in 1909) is also the only well-preserved guildhall from the Qing dynasty and currently serves as a museum. 1551 Zhongshan Nan Lu, Bansongyuan Lu.