The castle, located above Landshuts and visible from afar, has only been called "Trausnitz" since the 16th century. Until then, it had the same name as the city itself. According to this, the castle was to grant the country "protection" and protection.
Under Ludwig the Kelheimer, the founder of Burg and Stadt Landshut in 1204 and an important historical figure at the time of the Crusades, the Wittelsbach main castle had grown to the extent of today's core castle. In 1235, when Emperor Friedrich II was visiting Landshut, the castle was essentially completed.
Today the tour takes visitors to the castle through medieval halls such as the impressive vaulted hall of the Alten Dürnitz and the castle chapel with their important sculptural decoration and the winged altars of the rich dukes. Arched cabinets, panelled parlours and the famous stairway with the monumental painted scenes from the Italian Commedia dell'arte represent the era of the Renaissance. The culmination of the castle tour is the view from the Söller on the city. https://www.burg-trausnitz.de/deutsch/burg/index.htm
Exemplary pleasure palace with novel (for the time) ceiling frescoes.
Maximilian Emanuel's "hunting palace" was built to celebrate his marriage to the Emperor's daughter, Maria Antonia, in June 1685. The palace houses an outstanding collection of Meissen porcelain from the Ernst Schneider Foundation. The collection includes over 2,000 valuable plates, table centerpieces and animal figures, and is surpassed only by the collection in the Dresdner Zwinger Palace. https://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/castles/lustheim-palace.html
This magnificent palace emerged from the buildings of the former Benedictine monastery of St. Emmeram. In connection with the abolition of the postal rights the royal house of Thurn and Taxis purchased the greatest part of the monastery buildings in 1810 and extended them to make them their permanent residence. https://tourismus.regensburg.de/en/about-regensburg/sightseeing/more-sights-to-explore/architectural-monuments/thurn-and-taxis-palace.html
Today, after numerous additions and alterations, you can admire the three-section building complex dating from the 13th century which consists of the Town Hall tower, the Gothic Imperial Chamber building and the baroque Town Hall. From 1663 to 1806 the Perpetual Imperial Assembly met in the Imperial Chamber. It was there that the well-known expressions “to put something on the long bench” (to postpone something) and “to sit at the green table” (to take important decisions) originated. https://tourismus.regensburg.de/en/about-regensburg/more-sights-to-explore/architectural-monuments/old-town-hall.html
One of the oldest town halls in Germany and witness to the historical change in Jena. Admire the astronomical clock from the 15th century and "Schnapphans" (snatching Hans), one of the "Seven Wonders" of Jena. https://www.jenatourismus.de/en//353228
A Wonder of the World: The Stone Bridge. The people of Regensburg were obviously brilliant bridge-builders way back in the 12th century. The “Bruckmandl” however, the little statue on the bridge, didn’t take up his breezy position there till the middle of the 16th century. https://tourismus.regensburg.de/en/about-regensburg/sightseeing/more-sights-to-explore/architectural-monuments/old-stone-bridge.html
"The Englische Garten (“English Garden”) is one of the largest urban parks in the world. The layout has undergone constant change throughout the centuries as new buildings and green spaces were added time and again. https://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/parks/english-garden.html
In 1418, Ludwig the Bearded laid the foundation stone for the Neue Veste (New Citadel), in the centre of which rises the Neues Schloss. Today, 17 richly decorated cannons in the castle courtyard reflect the scale of the weapons arsenal at that time. http://www.ingolstadt-tourismus.de/en/exploreingolstadt/sightseeing/new-castle.html
At Olympiaberg in Munich, every skier can find just the right slope. The highest hill in the city offers a variety of options for descending: gently descending slopes for everyone who wants to learn to ski and bobsled, and steep descents for those who like to fly across the snow.
The Olympic Park in northern Munich is well known beyond the borders of the capital city. The unique tent architecture of the buildings and the Olympic Tower are some of Munich’s well known landmarks. After the Olympic Games in 1972, a 300-hectare-sized park was developed into a recreation center for the entire city. Joggers, cyclists, and walkers take their laps here, and swimmers do lengths in the Olympic swimming facility.
At over 50 meters (150 feet) high, the Olympic Hill towers over the park grounds and is an ideal spot to enjoy a view of the roofs of Munich and to the mountains beyond. http://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/parks/olympic-park.html
St Matthäus Church was the first Protestant parish church in Ingolstadt and is the oldest Bavarian church built in this style. The church has a brick architecture typical of the era in which it was built and a striking façade with a single tower. Situated close to the venerable Franciscan Basilica, it still lends a particular appeal to the squares around Schrannenstrasse and Holzmarkt today. http://www.ingolstadt-tourismus.de/en/exploreingolstadt/sightseeing/st-matthaeus-church.html
The most beautiful of all the city's preserved gates, the cross gate, leads from the west into the Old Town. Four small corner towers and sparingly used limestone decorations embellish the red brick gateway tower from the late 14th century, a Romantic witness to medieval architecture. http://www.ingolstadt-tourismus.de/en/exploreingolstadt/sightseeing/kreuztor-emblem-of-the-city.html
Outstanding works of European art and sculpture from the late 18th to the beginning of the 20th century are in the spotlight of the Neue Pinakothek. One focus is on the German art of the 19th century - this collection, which goes back to the private collection of King Ludwig I, is one of the most comprehensive of all. https://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/museums/neue-pinakothek.html
The Munich Residence served as the seat of government and residence of the Bavarian dukes, electors and kings from 1508 to 1918. What began in 1385 as a castle in the north-eastern corner of the city (the Neuveste, or new citadel), was transformed by the rulers over the centuries into a magnificent palace, its buildings and gardens extending further and further into the town.
The rooms and art collections spanning a period that begins with the Renaissance, and extends via the early Baroque and Rococo epochs to Neoclassicism, bear witness to the discriminating taste and the political ambition of the Wittelsbach dynasty.
Much of the Residence was destroyed during the Second World War, and from 1945 it was gradually reconstructed. Today, with the museums of the Bavarian Palace Administration (the Residence Museum itself, the Treasury and the Cuvilliés Theatre) along with other cultural institutions, this is one of the largest museum complexes in Bavaria. http://www.residenz-muenchen.de/englisch/residenc/
Munich is the capital of beer - with six breweries, the Hofbräuhaus and the Oktoberfest. Interested in the story of beer? So go into the Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum.
Learn more about the history of beer from migration of peoples, the monasteries, the purity law, and the unique quality of Munich's beer. And what about the story of the Oktoberfest? Established as the national festival for King Luis's wedding with Princess Theresa from Sachsen Hildburghausen to the world's great fair. Moreover, you can visit one of Munich's historical buildings. https://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/museums/beer-and-oktoberfest-museum.html
The Neue Rathaus (New Town Hall) is a magnificent neo-gothic building from the turn of the century which architecturally dominates the north side of Munich’s Marienplatz.
The almost 100-meter-long (300 feet) main facade on Marienplatz is richly ornamented in neo-gothic style and shows almost the entire line of the house of Wittelsbach in Bavaria. The Glockenspiel in the tower balcony of the Neues Rathaus is also world famous and worth seeing. Since 1908, figurines representing stories from Munich’s history twirl on two levels daily at 11:00 a.m., 12:00 p.m., and 5:00 p.m. (the 5:00 p.m. show is omitted from November through February). In addition to the well-known coopers dancers, the Münchner Kindl (symbol of the city’s coat of arms), and the angel of peace also make an appearance in the almost 12-minute-long spectacle.
At the top of the 85-meter-high (255 feet) tower on the city hall is an observation deck that can be accessed with an elevator and offers a grandiose view of the roofs of the city, even as far as the Alps in nice weather. In the generous and richly painted cellar vault of the Neues Rathaus is the Ratskeller, a traditional Munich restaurant since 1867. https://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/attractions/new-town-hall-neues-rathaus.html
Marienplatz is the central square in Old Town, Munich’s urban heart and the central point of the pedestrian zone. To the north is the magnificent neo-Gothic Neues Rathaus (“New Town Hall”), to the east the Altes Rathaus (“Old Town Hall”), and the passageway to Tal and the Viktualienmarkt (farmers’ market). To the south, the square is bordered by stores, office buildings, and restaurants. To the west, the pedestrian zone opens to Kaufingerstraße, which ends at the Karlstor (gate) located at the square known by locals as Stachus.
Marienplatz has been the center of Munich since it was founded in 1158 and is the heart of the city. In the first few centuries, the approximately 100 x 50 meter large area was used as the central marketplace, which is attested to today by the fish fountain on the northeast corner of Marienplatz. In 1638 Elector Maximilian I had the Mariensäule (Mary’s Column) erected in gratitude for the city being spared during the Thirty Years’ War; Marienplatz takes its name from the Mariensäule. The column is used as a reference point in land surveying as the topological center of Bavaria. Today Marienplatz is a center for festivities and political, cultural, or sports events. During Advent, Munich’s oldest traditional Christmas market (“Christkindlmarkt”) takes place here. https://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/attractions/marienplatz.html
"The Kirche St. Peter (“Church of St. Peter”) is one of Munich’s landmarks, the oldest parish church in the city, and is known affectionately by the locals as Alter Peter (“Old Peter”). The church stands on a hill called Petersbergl, which is the only noteworthy elevation within the Munich’s historic Old Town. https://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/churches/church-of-st-peter.html
Together with the Synagogue and the Jewish Community Center the Jewish Museum Munich forms part of the Jewish Center at St.-Jakobs-Platz. It is situated in immediate proximity to Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt. https://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/museums/jewish-museum.html
The late Baroque Asam Church is located on Sendlingerstraße just a few minutes’ walk away from the Sendlinger Tor (Sendling Gate).
It was erected between 1733 and 1746 by the Asam brothers and bears the official name of St. Johann Nepomuk. Originally planned as a private church for the builder, its Baroque facade is integrated into the row of houses on Sendlingerstraße. Two massive rocks arise from the base of the columns at the entrance. The luxuriously furnished interior breaks from Baroque convention with its proportional distribution. https://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/churches/asam-church.html
The Deutsches Museum shows its impressive collection of track and road vehicles in a completely new light. Historical coaches or steam locomotives take you to the roots of mobility. Exhibits and demonstrations clarify the interaction between the pleasure and tribulations of mobility. Motion as the basic principle of life, from inline-skate to Transrapid, is another topic. The exhibition was opened in 2003 in the historic halls of the old Exhibition Center. http://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/museums/deutsches-museum-verkehrszentrum.html
The baroque palace in the west part of Munich was the summer residence of the Bavarian monarchs. Five generations of Wittelsbach rulers were involved in the construction of this stately ensemble, which houses several outstanding collections. With its lavishly decorated interior and the famous "Gallery of Beauties" commissioned by Ludwig I, the palace is one of Munich's favorite attractions. Among the highlights are the former bedroom of King Ludwig II and the impressive banquet hall with fine ceiling frescoes by Johann Baptist Zimmermann.
The Nymphenburg Palace west of Munich is one of the largest royal palaces in Europe and is not to be missed on a sight-seeing tour through the Bavarian capital city. The oft-visited Baroque tourist attraction with it’s expansive landscaped garden and museum draws not only guests from around the world, but is also a beloved institution for Munich residents. In 1664, Prince Ferdinand Maria had the castle built as a present to his wife, who had borne him the long-awaited heir, Max Emanuel. Max Emanuel himself later played a significant role in expanding the palace layout. http://www.muenchen.de/int/en/sights/castles/nymphenburg-palace.html
Die Kiste,” the museum of the Augsburg Puppet Theatre, is found one floor above the theater in the Heilig-Geist-Spital, a former hospital now preserved as an historical monument http://www.augsburg-tourismus.de/augsburg-city.html
City residence of the banker Liebert von Liebenhofen with a richly furnished rococo banqueting hall (1765-1770), today Germany’s most important baroque gallery. http://www.augsburg-tourismus.de/augsburg-city.html
The Salzburg Open-Air Museum lies in the middle of Untersberg Nature Park, close to Salzburg City. On an area of around 50 hectares, it documents rural buildings, lifestyles and aspects of the rural economy from the 16th to the 20th century.
Here, just outside Salzburg, visitors are able to experience authentic farmhouses, the homes of craftsmen, mills, barns, a smithy and even a sawmill. In total, the Open-Air Museum presents over 100 real buildings, spread across 5 distinct areas representing each of Salzburger Land’s different regions. Demonstrations of a wide range of traditional crafts as well as seasonal folk events (including an Easter market, raising of the Maypole etc.) turn any visit to the museum into a truly interactive experience. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/excursions/salzburg-open-air-museum
Mirabell Palace was built in 1606 by prince-archbishop Wolf Dietrich for his beloved Salome Alt. Today, it serves as the backdrop for the most romantic weddings you could possibly imagine.
Mirabell Palace looks back on a colorful history. Today, Mirabell Palace is home to municipal offices as well as those of the mayor of Salzburg. Mirabell Gardens – Baroque pleasure gardens in the heart of the city. They were completely redesigned under archbishop Johann Ernst von Thun in 1690. The underlying geometric form, which is typical for the Baroque, is still clearly recognizable. The visual orientation towards the cathedral and fortress adds to the grandeur of the gardens – simultaneously incorporating them into the overall historical ensemble of the city.
Mirabell Gardens, along with the Felsenreitschule and Nonnberg Convent, is one of the most important shooting locations from the famous Hollywood musical “The Sound of Music”. In the film, Maria and the children dance around the Pegasus Fountain in front of the palace, singing the song “Do Re Mi”. At the end of the scene, the Trapp family stand on the steps in front of the Rose Hill and sing the song’s final bars. At the same time, viewers are enchanted by unique views across Mirabell Gardens towards the fortress. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/mirabell-palace-gardens
Giant dinosaurs from prehistoric times come together at the Haus der Natur with milestones of space travel, diverse underwater worlds and reptiles from the most distant corners of the globe. The journey into the human body is guaranteed to astonish you, as will the interactive experiments in the Science Center.
The Haus der Natur in Salzburg is one of the biggest magnets for the general public in the city. Roaming through the museum, visitors discover the most fascinating aspects of Mother Nature. Right at the entrance, giant dinosaurs show us what the world must have looked like millions of years ago. And only a few steps away, a view out into the endless universe gives us insights into milestones of space travel. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/museum-of-natural-history
From 1773 to 1787, the Mozarts lived at the so-called “Dance Master’s House”, standing on today’s Makartplatz. The spacious eight-room apartment on the first floor is now home to a museum.
On 26 January 1996, the Mozart Residence celebrated its reopening. In the museum, you can see – in addition to Mozart’s fortepiano – many original documents and portraits. The exhibition provides an array of interesting facts about the history of the house, Mozart’s Salzburg years and the life of the Mozart family. A multi-vision show as well as rotating exhibitions, concerts and talks offer a very rich and diverse Mozart experience. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/museums/mozart-residence
The Getreidegasse is the bustling heart of Salzburg’s Old City, its unmistakable charm as well as Mozart’s Birthplace making it an irresistible destination for countless visitors from around the world. Aside from an array of international fashion chains, the Getreidegasse also charms passers-by with its traditional inns and unique businesses steeped in history.
Through-houses are very typical of the Salzburg historical district. The front and back of the buildings let directly out onto different streets, with an arcaded passageway connecting the two. Today, they often also feature artworks, art galleries and shops. The most famous of these is at the Schatz House, leading from No. 3 Getreidegasse to University Square. There, in a dark corner, you will encounter a poignant relief depicting the Madonna with the infant Jesus. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/getreidegasse
W. A. Mozart was born in 1756 in the “Hagenauer Haus” at No. 9 Getreidegasse in Salzburg. Today, Mozart’s Birthplace is one of the most visited museums in Austria and is an absolute highlight, above all for Mozart fans.
The museum invites you to take a tour lasting about an hour through original rooms. Also amble through a middle-class apartment reconstructed as authentically as possible. Discover items of everyday life as well as furniture from the 18th century, and feel as if you have personally been transported back to the days of Mozart!
Original certificates, letters and memorabilia document Mozart’s life in Salzburg. A collection of portraits, mostly done during Mozart’s lifetime, allows you to basically stand face-to-face with this musical genius. A particular joy for Mozart fans: the historical instruments, including Mozart’s own violin and clavichord. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/mozarts-birthplace
The Museum der Moderne is located on the Mönchsberg, high above the rooftops of Salzburg’s Old City. On a total of four levels, international art treasures from the 20th and 21st centuries are presented in a stylish setting.
In recent years, the Museum der Moderne has raised the bar in art matters to a whole new level. Displayed on an area of 2300 square meters are internationally acclaimed modern and contemporary art pieces, as well as works from their own collections, which the public can enjoy in a series of rotating exhibitions. The unique, puristic exhibition space never fails to excite visitors from around the world. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/museum-of-modern-art-moenchsberg
The DomQuartier is a unique cultural highlight in the heart of Salzburg City. In the magnificent state rooms, history comes alive, while a museum tour also allows you to enjoy imposing views of the city itself.
The architectural complex we know today as the DomQuartier comprises the Cathedral and the Residenz – once the center of the prince-archbishops’ power – along with Benedictine St. Peter’s Abbey. With a single entrance ticket, visitors have the opportunity to marvel at five different Salzburg museums. The historical rooms of the DomQuartier also house various collections focused especially on the Baroque history of the city.
The starting point for your tour of the DomQuartier are the baroque state rooms of the Alte Residenz. Strolling through the Residenz Gallery, you will pass through the Cathedral Museum and then into the museum of St. Peter’s. The Salzburg Museum’s Rossacher Collection of Baroque art in the northern oratories serves as the final stop on the tour. Yet another unique highlight: The tour also treats visitors to imposing views and a new appreciation for the historical district as well as the city mountains. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/domquartier-salzburg
The Salzburg Museum has garnered numerous awards, an institution with its own unique character housed within the magnificently restored Neue Residenz. Aside from aesthetic presentations and valuable art objects, a number of multimedia installations also invite visitors to marvel and learn.
During their reigns, the Salzburg prince-archbishops shaped the city and province in a multitude of ways. But aside from the spiritual and secular leaders, a series of other interesting men and women have done their part to enrich Salzburg as well. On the first floor of the museum an exhibition is dedicated to them, focused on themes that include art, science, architecture, literature, music, photography, the working world and craftsmanship. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/salzburg-museum
Hohensalzburg Fortress is enthroned on the Festungsberg, high above the rooftops of the Baroque historical district. The biggest fully preserved castle in Central Europe, this emblem of Salzburg draws millions of tourists to our “City of Mozart” every year.
In the year 1077, archbishop Gebhard had the fortress built and thus changed the Salzburg skyline forever. In the years which followed, his successors drove ongoing development of the fortress architecture. The complex acquired the appearance we recognize today under archbishop Leonhard von Keutschach in 1500. The original purpose of the fortress was to protect the principality and the archbishops from hostile attacks. In all of these years, it has never been captured by foreign troops. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/hohensalzburg-fortress