The Ramparts Walk in the Old City of Jerusalem is a gem hidden from locals and tourists alike. Hard to find, the Ramparts Walk is one of the most rewarding activities in terms of history, beauty and a greater sense of the Old City as a whole. Reasonably priced, the Ramparts Walk makes a great trip combined with the other activities and sites found in and around the Old City.
The Ramparts Walk is divided into two separate walks, totally just under two miles: the north side walk and the south side walk. Both are included in the admission ticket and both have their differences. The north side walk is the longer of the two and covers a far greater area, from the Jaffa Gate (on the west side of the Old City) to the Lions Gate (on the east side, approaching the Dome of the Rock). The south side walk is shorter but ends at a more convenient location, the Western Wall (or Kotel as it is known in Hebrew). The south side walk begins at the Tower of David (on the west side of the Old City, beside the Jaffa Gate) and continues around to the south side of the city, ending off between the Zion and Dung Gates.
Tayelet is the Hebrew word for promenade. In Tel Aviv, this refers to the pedestrian promenade running the length of the city’s beaches from the Tel Aviv Port in the North through to Jaffa in the South. Beyond the city’s borders, the promenade also reaches North to Herzliya and to Jaffa’s southern neighbor of Bat Yam.
The Tel Aviv Tayelet is bordered on one side by the Mediterranean Coast. In many areas, sandy beaches filled with sunbathers, volleyball nets, paddle ball games (matkot) and cafes accompany the sparkling blue waters. The Jaffa section is comprised of Charles Kalore Park, featuring grass, playgrounds and rocky breakers for breathtaking views. The Tel Aviv Port offers boardwalks, restaurants and a variety of entertainment options and special events.
The main stretch of the Tel Aviv Tayelet is surrounded by large hotels and activities suited to a beach-filled afternoon. Everything from top-quality fish restaurants and steakhouses to McDonald's and Kentucky Fried Chicken can be found along the Tayelet. At night, there is a bar option suited to every taste; beach-side venues filled with couches for relaxation, dance bars, live music and rooftop lounges are open every night of the week. The Tayelet is also home to Tel Aviv’s Tourist Information Center, many health and beauty spas, ice cream shops, and schools for surfing and sailing. It is also a popular place for jogging and biking.
One of the loveliest places to walk and see in all of Haifa is the Louis Promenade on Mount Carmel. The promenade is conveniently located minutes away from numerous museums, shops and several hotels such as the Dan Panorama, the Dan Carmel and the Nof Hotel. This pleasantly peaceful promenade etched onto the slope of Haifa’s mountain is perfect for walks, jogs, runs and basking in the warm Mediterranean sun. With an exceptional view that extends from the city of Haifa to the distant white outcropping that is Rosh NaHikra, you can see the coastal cities of Nahariya, Akko (Acre) and the Krayot with the low, green mountains of the Western Galilee.
Watch the cargo ships come into the port and the naval ships dart to and fro with the slight chance of spotting dolphins leaping way down off the bay. On a clear day, the snowy peaks of Israel’s tallest mountain, Mount Hermon at 9,232 feet, can be seen as well. Obviously, telescopes and binoculars are advised and don’t forget your camera!
Stretching over the western outskirts of Bila Tserkva, not far from Kyiv, the Dendropark Oleksandriya is considered to be one of the most beautiful and charming landscape parks in the country. Created by the best European architects and gardeners, it is a vivid monument of landscape art of the 18th-19th centuries. Oleksandriya occupies a territory of 200 hectares and is, therefore, the largest landscape park in Ukraine and one of the largest ones in Eastern Europe. It is always full of guests, who are attracted by special atmosphere and an opportunity to escape the urban hustle and bustle in splendid natural surroundings.
The landscape park was named after Aleksandra von Engelhardt, the own niece of the Prince Grigory Potyomkin and the lady-in-waiting of Catherine the Great, who received the mansion in Bila Tserkva as a present from her husband, crown hetman of Poland Ksawery Branicki. Being amazed by luxurious parks in European capitals, she decided to create an as beautiful and elegant landscape park in her residence. However, on the contrary to prim park complexes of the Old World with stiffly cut trees and ideally straight lanes, the countess wanted to make the landscape of her park as close to natural as possible. She didn’t strive to change local nature, rather to bring some order in it, highlighting its beauty and richness.
The Riva started to look the way it does today two centuries ago, when the French, in time of Napoleon ruled these parts through Marshal Marmont. Today this promenade is the cities living room, the most popular and most important public place in Split. In the meantime, it has been widened and reconstructed several times, but it was always blessed with the most spectacular setting, the south facade of the Diocletian Palace, with the entrance into the Substructures, and later on with the buildings that were built west of the Palace, also the Franciscan monastery with the church of St. Francis, and the Bajamonti Dešković Palace and last but not least the Port Authorities building on the east end.
Riva today is pedestrian heaven, thrusting with Cafés and restaurants, an ideal place for having your morning or afternoon coffee, or for an evening out with friends over drinks. Riva is the stage of the city life of Split, a venue for numerous cultural and entertainment events, boisterous Split carnival, as well as the stage for meeting Split sportsmen after countless successes, such as Goran Ivanišević, Hajduk football club players and Jugoplastika basketball players, Olimpic medal winners... Riva is also a political forum, with decades of political opportunities being depicted through mass rallies. Naturally, Riva is always at its best in time of Sudamja, a celebration dedicated to St. Domnius, the patron saint of Split.
The area was proclaimed national park in 1985. The National Park includes one or more preserved or insignificantly altered ecosystems. By the submergence of the riverbed, the Krka River is about 72.5 kilometers long and has its source at the foot of the Dinara mountain. With seven travertine waterfalls and a total fall of 224 meters, the Krka is a natural and karst phenomenon. The beauty of Skradinski buk, the longest travertine barrier on the Krka River and one of the most famous beauties of Croatia, is particularly remarkable
At Strossmayer promenade you will enjoy spectacular views of Zagreb and rediscover peace and love.
It runs along with the remains of Zagreb’s medieval defensive walls. For this reason, it is starting right underneath Lotrščak Tower one of last Zagreb’s fortifications. Watch out for the Noon Grič Cannon shot.
Walking along you will stumble upon Anton Gustav Matoš, a Croatian poet who sits on a bench forever overlooking Zagreb. Strossmayer promenade is beautifully green, filled with chestnut trees. Therefore it provides a great gateway during warm summer nights.
A great place to take a walk and make a short break from exploring the city. Sit down and watch the world go by!
St. Peter's Square is one of the largest and most beautiful squares in the world. It is located in Vatican City, at the feet of St. Peter's Basilica.The dimensions of the square are spectacular: 320 meters long and 240 meters wide. In the liturgies and more noticeable events St. Peter's Square has held more than 300,000 people.The most impressive part of the square, besides its size, are its 284 columns and 88 pilasters that flank the square in a colonnade of four rows. Above the columns there are 140 statues of saints created in 1670 by the disciples of Bernini.In the centre of the square the obelisk and the two fountains, one of Berni ni (1675) and another of Maderno (1614) stand out. The obelisk, which is 25 meters in height, was carried to Rome from Egypt in 1586.
The Vatican Gardens are a natural, architectural and artistic space of great beauty and spirituality, boasting an area of 23 hectares occupying most of the Vatican Hill. It was finally opened to the publick in 2014. The garden combines in itself 3 different styles Italian, Frech and English, each with their respective characteristics.
Mlaka Park, also known as Giardino Pubblico, is one of the oldest and most beautiful parks in Rijeka. It was designed in 1874 by Filibert Bazarig, PhD as indicated be based on the proposals of Rijeka’s mayor at the time, Giovanni Ciotta as a kind of frontier between the city centre and the western suburbs as well as the announcement of the historical centre for those arriving from that direction into the centre.
Originally a spacious park irrigated by natural resources, it was once a favourite popular meeting point, although today it occupies a smaller area due to the construction of buildings that have been constructed around it in its surroundings over time. In spite of its reduced size, this park located close to the train station is still a pleasant place for relaxation and walking.
The Croatian Walk of Fame project in Opatija was launched in 2005 by the Apriori Communications agency as a symbolic tribute to all the people whose sporting, scientific, cultural or artistic endeavours have contributed significantly to the worldwide promotion of Croatia.
Potential candidates for inclusion are nominated by the project's independent Nomination Board consisting of several noted public individuals. From the board's nominations, readers of the media sponsors then cast their vote to decide which two candidates (one living, one awarded posthumously) should have their stars included in the Croatian Walk of Fame.
The splendour of Haapsalu, the famous Czarist era resort, is recalled by the seafront Promenade and its jewel -- the Assembly Hall with its wooden “gingerbread”. Walk on the sloping promenade and glance dreamily at the sea; check the time at the sundial and have a rest on the bench named for the world-famous composer Tchaikovsky.
Interesting facts: The Promenade starts at the exotically named Africa Beach, and ends at the Chocolate Promenade, which is named after a former café. There is a children’s playground on the Promenade and the town’s only observation tower. There is also a monument to Carl Hunnius, the discoverer of Haapsalu’s therapeutic mud behind the bandshell.
Covering over 125 hectares and comprising more than 15,000 trees, El Retiro Park is a green oasis in the heart of the city. In it you’ll find all kinds of interesting monuments and gardens, including the Jardín de Vivaces, the Jardines de Cecilio Rodríguez (Andalusian-inspired classicistic gardens), the Jardines del Arquitecto Herrero Palacios, the Rosaleda rose garden and the Parterre Francés, which holds a Mexican conifer that is nearly 400 years old and is believed to be Madrid’s oldest tree.
Upton Country Park in Poole has over 140 acres of beautiful award-winning gardens, open parkland, woodland and shoreline, with stunning Georgian Grade II* listed Upton House as the centrepiece. Something for everyone to enjoy, whatever the season, so come along and see what has made Upton Country Park one of Poole’s premier attractions!
The Country Park is open seven days a week from 8 am – 6 pm (winter timetable) or 8 am – 9 pm (summer timetable).
Winners of two Dorset Tourism Awards 2017 - Venue & Busines of the Year and Dog-Friendly Business of the Year.
Perfect for a relaxing stroll or bike ride, the Barrage embankment is situated in a stunning maritime setting and offers spectacular views over Cardiff Bay and the Severn Estuary. Thanks to its flat gradient and lack of steps, it’s accessible for all visitors.
A variety of leisure activities take place along the Barrage embankment at the children’s play area, Skate Plaza and adiZone outdoor gym. Visitors can also peruse the free exhibitions, have a sit-down and selfie with The Enormous Crocodile, and take a pit-stop at the RSPB-run Hafren Café.
The Quarry is Shrewsbury's beautiful, 29-acre parkland, encircled by the majestic loop of the River Severn. The Quarry has been Shrewsbury's most important site for recreation since the 16th Century. It still provides the perfect place to relax, enjoy walks, picnic, fish along the banks of the River Severn, or just let off steam.
At the heart of the Quarry lies the Dingle, a floral masterpiece cultivated by world-renowned gardener Percy Thrower, who served as Parks Superintendent for 28 years. It's a delightful sunken garden landscaped with alpine borders, brilliant bedding plants, shrubbery and charming water features.
For two days each August The Quarry comes alive with more than 3 million blooms, as the park hosts Shrewsbury Flower Show. There is also show jumping, arena entertainment and top military bands, as well as a spectacular firework display.
Discovery Walk is a series of plaques honouring the achievements of scientists, innovators and social reformers of the past who either came from or had a strong connection to Dundee.
The plaques are set into the pavements around Mary Slessor Gardens at the heart of Dundee's £1 billion Waterfront Redevelopment. There are currently nine plaques commemorating scientists, engineers, writers, artists, social reformers and philanthropists, plus a tenth plaque introducing the Walk. A crowdfunding campaign was launched in late 2016 to fund the addition of five further plaques.
A Standing Stone above Finlaggan. This structure and other standing stones on Islay probably pre-date the medieval ruins on the Council Isle by around two or three thousand years. Someone on Islay raised a question about whether any of Islay's standing stone groups have solar alignments, as can be read in an article about the Winter Solstice. I know of several sites on Islay which have been linked to various astronomical events. These include the stone circle at Cultoon, the standing stones at Ballinaby and the standing stone at Finlaggan.
A ride along the Golden Circle in the south of Iceland reveals the breathtaking Gullfoss Waterfall. There you traverse a narrow path that provides close-up views of the massive, two-tiered waterfall below. In winter the view is spectacular when the waterfall freezes over into undulating waves of glistening ice. On sunny days you are treated to thousands of rainbows, a natural reaction with the clouds of spray from the tumbling falls.Gullfoss is one of the most popular tourist attraction in Iceland and part of the Golden Circle. The waterfall is by many considered one of the most beautiful waterfall in Iceland. You can find the waterfall in the upper part of the Hvita river. The water cascades down in two stages, one 11 m (36 ft) high, and the other 21 m (69 ft), into the 2,5 km (1.6 mi) long crevasse below. This crevasse was created at the end of the Ice Age by catastrophic flood waves and is lengthened by 25 cm (9.8 in) a year by the constant erosion from the water.If you visit Gullfoss during winter time, please be careful, since the narrow path can freeze over. We strongly recommend that you stay within the path.
The Tsingy was the first refuge for the inhabitants of the island and it is located 820km west of Antananarivo. The Tsingy offers one of the most spectacular landscapes in Madagascar. This is why it was the first UNESCO World Heritage Site, followed by the Bemaraha park. You will be able to admire these fabulous landscapes with sharp spikes.
The Tsingy was classified as UNESCO World Heritage in 1990 and occupies a part of the limestone plateau of the same name that is a part of the Bemaraha National Park which was classified as UNESCO World Heritage in 1997. The Tsingy is one of the most spectacular landscapes of Madagascar with its network of rifts, crevasses, and limestome blocks that are carved in sharped blades.
Real emblem of Malagasy flora, the baobab is a majestic and sacred tree that counts eight species. Six of them only grow in Madagascar. The baobab alley contains the most specimens in the world, so you will realize their impressive size and admire some trunks naturally intertwined (baobab in love).
At 19 kms from Morondava, admire the unique forest of baobab trees in the world.
This set of a dozen trees presents a landscape of a rare elegance.
Most of these baobabs are more than 800 years old, a legacy of the dense forests that have flourished on the island a long time ago.
You will admire there the most beautiful specimens in a wonderful scenery.
Mutianyu Great Wall is located 70 km away from Beijing, which makes it significantly less busy and features some fun, modern amusements, such as a cable car, chairlift, and toboggan. It has unique design and construction, having 3 enemy towers build next to each other. When visiting, each season bring their own beauty to the scenery. From green mountains and flowers to snowy mountain tops tops and autumn leaves.
Eighteen Peaks (Shibajian) Mountain runs in a north-south arc through Hsinchu County. It is a forest park in a lunar shape cultivated during the Japanese Colonial Era. It extends about 7-8 km embracing Zhudong City and its southern suburbs. It got its name because it has 18 peaks. The highest is 131.79m and the lowest is 50m; and the average gradient is 40%.
As the mountain is covered with thick forests and exudes the fragrance of flowers, one can feel the kind of freshness when walking on the trails. Therefore, the shaded trail of the mountain has become one of the local people's favorite spots for recreation and exercise. To ensure the safety of people exercising there, the city government has in recent years applied a no entry policy for cars between 00:00 to 08:00 everyday.
Visitors can walk down the mountain from Hsinchu Commercial & Vocational High School along Bo'ai Street. At the peak stands the Jieshou Kiosk. There are Guanyin statues in the forest which are also attractions of the spot.
Senganen Garden (仙巌園), also known as Isoteien (磯庭園), is a Japanese style landscaped garden along the coast north of downtown Kagoshima. One of the garden's most striking features is its use of Sakurajima and Kagoshima Bay as borrowed scenery. The garden also includes small ponds, streams, shrines and a bamboo grove.
Senganen was constructed in 1658 by the wealthy Shimazu Clan, one of the most powerful feudal clans during the Edo Period (1603-1867). The Shimazu ruled the Satsuma domain (present-day Kagoshima) for almost 700 years until the end of the feudal age in 1868. They continued to be influential into the modern era as some of the earliest adopters of Western science and technology.
At the centre of the garden stands the Iso Residence. The residence was originally built in 1658 along with the rest of the garden, but the current building mostly dates back to a mid-1880s reconstruction. After the end of the feudal age, the Iso Residence became the main residence of the Shimazu family, and its rooms are preserved in the way they were used in the 1890s.
The Jigokudani Monkey Park (Jigokudani Yaen Kōen) offers visitors the unique experience of seeing wild monkeys bathing in a natural hot spring. The park is inhabited by Japanese Macaques, which are also known as Snow Monkeys. Visitors will likely already encounter monkeys along the path to the pool. The monkeys live in large social groups, and it can be quite entertaining to watch their interactions. Accustomed to humans, the monkeys can be observed from very close and almost completely ignore their human guests.
Korankei (香嵐渓, Kōrankei) is a valley near Nagoya reputed to be one of the best spots for autumn colours in the Chubu Region. Shaping the valley is the 254 meters tall Mount Iimori, on which Kojakuji Temple stands. In the 17th century, the head priest of Kojakuji planted some maple trees along with the temple approach, prompting many locals to do the same in the area. Today, visitors to Korankei can see the fruits of these past efforts, in the form of excellent autumn scenery that peaks around mid to late November each year.
The best colours tend to appear around the paths along Tomoe River at the western and southern sides of Mount Iimori. Visitors can enjoy lovely sights of maple tree tunnels and autumn colours in combination with views of the river and the few bridges across it. The vermillion Taigetsukyo Bridge is the symbol of Korankei and a great picture-taking spot.
Appreciate nature from three breathtaking perspectives - Capilano Suspension Bridge, Treetops Adventure and the exciting new Cliffwalk.
The 450 ft (137m) long, 230 ft (70m) high Capilano Suspension Bridge has thrilled visitors since 1889. While the wobbly bridge and stunning location is a Vancouver landmark, Capilano Suspension Bridge Park offers an all-encompassing BC experience. History, culture and nature are presented in unique and thrilling ways with knowledgeable staff and interpretive signage providing as much, or as little, information as guests want.
1890's costumed staff provides entertainment, conducts guided tours through the Story Centre and eco-tours in the rainforest. Guests interact with First nations staff either at the Big House or in the rainforest. Capilano Suspension Bridge Park has the world's largest private collection of totem poles, including early 1900's local Coast Salish in the Totem Park and Haida, Tsimshian and Tlingit poles that have been carved on-site over the past 20 years in Kia'palano. The 100 year-old Trading Post, which retains its early 1900s mercantile flavour, sells Canadian gifts and take home memories. Seasonal events like Raptors Ridge birds of prey June to October and Canyon Lights in December enhance the many experiences at this year-round destination.
Ascending to 14,410 feet above sea level, Mount Rainier stands as an icon in the Washington landscape. An active volcano, Mount Rainier is the most glaciated peak in the contiguous U.S.A., spawning five major rivers. Subalpine wildflower meadows ring the icy volcano while ancient forest cloaks Mount Rainier’s lower slopes. Wildlife abounds in the park’s ecosystems. A lifetime of discovery awaits.
Get up before dawn to enjoy the show just as the sun rises, with the craters of El Tatio as the main attraction. Located 4,200 meters above sea level, its fumaroles (smoke from the geysers) create amazing white steam columns which are at their best between 6 and 7 in the morning.
On your morning outing see how the local endemic wildlife (viscachas, vicunas, nandues) and other birds leave their hiding spots, looking for their breakfast among the yaretas (fern like plants) and giant cacti. Tired? Finish your day in the healing hot springs that the destination offers.
Scattered over more than 260,000 hectares and part of the UNESCO-protected Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area, Blue Mountains National Park is the most visited national park in NSW and a favourite playground for Sydneysiders.Renowned for the Three Sisters rock formation, the park incorporates many other spectacular landmarks and offers opportunities for exploration and immersion into nature. Explore exhilarating walks, discover Aboriginal history, hike to tumbling waterfalls and enjoy picnics in parks with stunning, far-reaching vistas of ancient escarpments and forest-clad valleys.
Known as the jewel in the Booderee National Park, Murrays Beach offers swimmers and snorkelers alike, pristine clear waters and pearly white sand. Perfect for families, Murrays Beach is situated in a protected bay which is sheltered by Bowen Island. Accessed via Jervis Bay Road through Booderee National Park, there are many self-guided walks around Murrays Beach from which to explore. From the Munyunga waraga dhugan (loop walk) to the various low tide walks, you are sure to leave with breathtaking views and sightings of Booderee's plants, animals, culture and history
Centennial Parklands is the 'green lungs' of Sydney. Comprising three urban parks – Centennial Park, Moore Park and Queens Park, almost 31 million people visit our parks annually.Dedicated to the people of NSW as an open space for recreation by Sir Henry Parkes in 1888, modern-day Centennial Park's sports fields, BBQs, playgrounds and picnic areas are aligned with his vision of ‘The People’s Park’.Popular with Sydney’s sport-lovers, Moore Park’s 115-hectares house the Hordern Pavilion, Hall of Industries, Entertainment Quarter, Equestrian Centre, E.S. Marks Athletics Field, a public golf course and sports centre.Queens Park is a haven for Sydney's sport lovers! Located in Centennial Parklands, the 26-hectare park features sports fields, a kids playground, free BBQ facilities, a café and spectacular views of the Sydney region.
Queens Park is a 26-hectare urban park, set in a natural amphitheatre at the foot of dramatic sandstone cliffs, with panoramic views of the Sydney region.To this day Queens Park is used for informal recreation and organised sport, featuring cricket, rugby, soccer, and touch football fields bordered by sandstone outcrops and established trees. A viewing area located the sandstone ridge on the eastern edge of the Park offers spectacular views of Queens Park with the Sydney City skyline as a backdrop.Queens Park has cricket pitches, soccer, rugby and touch football fields available for hire on a casual or seasonal basis.
Captain Cook first spotted the area now known as Bare Island in 1770, and referred to it in his journal as 'a small bare island'. The fort was built in the early 1880s to protect Sydney’s back door. It was in operation until 1908, after which time it became Australia's first war veterans' home.