The Sky Tower has stood tall at 328 meters as an icon of Auckland's sky line for 20 years. It's an exciting hub of adrenaline activities, superb dining and breathtaking views. View the city from 220 metres high above street level. Enjoy panoramic 360˚ views up to 80 kilometres in every direction and spot key landmarks, volcanoes and other historical locations within the greater Auckland area.
If dining with a view is what you're after, then you're spoilt for choice with three restaurants and cafes up the Sky Tower - Orbit 360˚ Dining revolving restaurant, the superbly chic and elegant The Sugar Club or relax with your coffee, cheese board or ice cream at the Sky Café.
The Sky Tower Gift Shop offers a wide range of Kiwiana gifts and souvenirs, official All Blacks Adidas merchandise as well as many other great keepsakes from the Sky Tower and New Zealand.
Whether you are a local or a tourist to Brisbane, a guided tour provides an opportunity to learn something about the art, architecture and history of City Hall. The building known in Brisbane as "the People's Place", City Hall was built between 1920 and 1930. The heritage-listed Brisbane City Hall is seen as the heart of Brisbane and has been the backdrop to many cultural, social and civic events.
City Hall is the civic seat of the city and is home to the Lord Mayor and Deputy Mayor, and plays host to community and corporate events daily. City Hall is a bustling, active working building, so you may find that some of the rooms and features are not open to the public on certain days. Accompanied by a professional guide, these tours provide further access to different parts of the building as possible.
Flinders Street Station, apart from being the hub of Melbourne's transport system, is one of the city's great landmarks and icons. Opened in 1884, the station dominates the intersection of Flinders and Swanston Streets. The steps under the station's famous domed clock tower has long been the most popular meeting place for Melbourneans coming into the city.
Located on the Honolulu Harbor in Downtown Honolulu, about 15 minutes west of Waikiki, Aloha Tower is an iconic symbol of Hawaii. Built in September of 1926, this was the tallest building in the islands for four decades and its clock was one of the largest in the United States. The tower stood as a welcoming beacon for visitors since travel to Oahu was done entirely by sea. Duke Kahanamoku set his first swimming world record here at Pier 7 and the wharf was also known for Boat Days, a lively celebration to welcome the arrival of visiting ships.
Today, Aloha Tower is still a docking port for Oahu’s cruise ships, including The Star of Honolulu. But this historic place has also transformed into the revitalized Aloha Tower Marketplace: a mixed-use space now part of Hawaii Pacific University, featuring student residences, meeting spaces, community event areas and a variety of restaurants. Enjoy an ocean-view lunch, listen to live music at night and explore unique shops or walk just a couple of blocks to Chinatown’s art district. You can also visit the Observation Deck, located on the 10th floor of Aloha Tower and dine at Gordon Biersch or Hooters, or dance at the night away at Nashville Waikiki—all with beautiful views of the harbor on one side and the cityscape of Honolulu on the other.
Ho Chi Minh City’s Bitexco Financial Tower & Sky Deck stands 262 metres high at the centre of the city’s business district and offers visitors an unparalleled city view from its Sky Deck.
Designed by renowned American Architect Carlos Zapata, this 68-storey tower houses offices, shops, restaurants, and a helipad. CNNGo recently ranked the building fifth in their listing of the world’s 20 most iconic skyscrapers.
The structure also received an ‘Excellence in Structural Engineering’ award from NCSEA in 2011 and is currently the 124th tallest building in the world. The main attraction at the tower is the Sky Deck where visitors can enjoy dramatic views across the bustling city below.
Sky Deck visitors are accompanied by an English-speaking guide and can also enjoy interactive touch screen fact boxes delivering information on points of interest regarding city landmarks seen from above.
Standing 131 meters tall just across from Kyoto Station, Kyoto Tower (京都タワー) is Kyoto's tallest structure and a rare modern iconic landmark in the city famous for its ancient temples and shrines. The tower was completed in 1964, the same year as the opening of the shinkansen and the Tokyo Olympics.
A viewing platform is located 100 meters above ground and affords a 360 degree view of Kyoto and as far as Osaka on clear days. Kyoto Tower stands on top of a typical commercial building, which contains souvenir shops, restaurants and a hotel, as well as a public bath in the basement.
Built in 1240, Bitchu Matsuyama Castle is both an Important Cultural Property of Japan and is counted among Japan’s top 100 castles. The castle is located atop a mountain at an altitude of 430 m, making it the highest fortress with an existing castle tower in Japan. Visitors to the castle are treated to a spectacular sight, especially in the early mornings of fall and winter when the clouds spread out to form a “sea of clouds” around the castle. Also in fall, when the trees change color, the landscape becomes painted in a deep vermilion as if the castle walls were aflame, offering visitors a truly majestic sight.
Standing 44-metres tall, the old Clock Tower was erected in 1915 as part of the Kowloon–Canton Railway terminus. The once-bustling station is long gone, but this red brick and granite tower, now preserved as a Declared Monument, survives as an elegant reminder of the Age of Steam. It has also been a memorable landmark for the millions of Chinese immigrants who passed through the terminus to begin new lives not just in Hong Kong, but in other parts of the world via the city’s harbour.
De Dong Hoi Citadel - is located in the centre of town. It is a complex of high fences and towers. A citadel is a fortress that dominates the city. This fort had to defend the king and the capital from the Nguyen dynasty defend since 1630. The citadel is 1,500 meters away from the Nhat Le beach and it is adjacent to the Nhat Le River on the east side and the forest on the west side. Only two gates and a moat remain of the citadel. You can climb up in the gates, but inside you will find syringes and burnt debris.
Dong Hoi citadel has played an important position in many periods of history. In 1885 the French army attacked the citadel, but the people and soldiers of Dong Ha defended the citadel well and won the battle triumphant, that's why the French had to withdraw. During the war between Vietnam and France in 1945-1954, the locals also made several attacks on the citadel. Nowadays there is no more war in Vietnam, but the beautiful Dong Hoi citadel is still alive as an honourable symbol of the brave country. It draws many visitors from all places in Vietnam and around the world.
The Clock Tower (時計台, Tokeidai) is a symbol of Sapporo. The building was constructed during the early period of Sapporo's development in 1878 as a drill hall of the Sapporo Agricultural College. In 1881 a clock purchased from Boston was installed.
Today, the Clock Tower serves as a museum with displays about the building's history and Sapporo on the first floor. On the second floor are displays about the clock and a spacious ceremony hall that calls to mind the simple buildings of the colonial American Midwest.
Built in the early 13th century a few kilometres south of Delhi, the red sandstone tower of Qutb Minar is 72.5 m high, tapering from 2.75 m in diameter at its peak to 14.32 m at its base, and alternating angular and rounded flutings. The surrounding archaeological area contains funerary buildings, notably the magnificent Alai-Darwaza Gate, the masterpiece of Indo-Muslim art (built in 1311), and two mosques, including the Quwwatu'l-Islam, the oldest in northern India, built of materials reused from some 20 Brahman temples.
The clock tower is a popular landmark in the old city. The vibrant Sardar Market is close to the tower, and narrow alleys lead from here to a bazaar selling vegetables, spices, Indian sweets, textiles, silver and handicrafts. It is a great place to ramble around at leisure.
The Porto Seguro Lighthouse is in the state of Bahia. This is one of the main attractions of the region according to the National Historical and Artistic Heritage Institute. It is a lighthouse and a 12-meter high gallery, being a masonry tower. The Porto Seguro Lighthouse is capable of emitting two white lightnings followed by a red one every 30 seconds.
One of the main reasons why there are many tourists at the Porto Seguro Lighthouse is not only the incredible view of the sea. This is because there is also the weight of the whole story it represents.
Representing more than 100 years of history, this structure was inaugurated on July 10, 1907. It all happened after a decision taken by the Casa da Câmara and Cadeia.
Being one of the most conventional and facilitated ways in addition to bringing more pleasant lighting, it also provides security. The first Porto Seguro Lighthouse would have been constructed from another material: iron structure, with an external staircase as its main characteristic. Therefore, it was rebuilt in 1947, using considerably safer material. The reform was one of the main changes, covering the amount of visits by the tourist spot.
The CN Tower is Toronto’s tallest and most defining landmark. Photos of Toronto are often defined by the building, which stretches more than 550 metres into the sky.
Today, aside from serving as a hub for telecommunications across the city, the CN Tower has become a major tourist destination. Visitors can test their courage by walking across the glass floor 113 stories above the ground. The first of its kind in the world, the glass floor gives you that dare-to-walk-on-air experience, with only 2.5 inches of glass holding you 342 metres in the air. The glass floor is actually stronger than most commercial floors and has the strength to hold 38,556 kg (85,000 lbs) or 14 hippos! Or, if you dare, travel higher up the tower to the Sky Pod, another 33 storeys above ground.
The latest features at the tour is EdgeWalk, the world’s highest full-circle, hands-free walk. Visitors are attached through safety rails and harnesses and walk along the Tower’s ledge, 116 storeys above ground, to experience breathtaking views of the city below. EdgeWalk is open from spring through until fall, and is closed for the winter. Get more details at the CN Tower’s EdgeWalk site.
Located at the mouth of the Buffalo River at the north entrance to Buffalo Harbor. Grounds with historic artefact displays and cell phone tour open to the public during scheduled daylight hours. Tower open on scheduled tour days posted on Facebook or by appointment, for per-person or group fees.
Group tours may be scheduled at email@example.com, subject to availability on days the tower is not open for general admission. Groups tours have more time to view the panoramic Buffalo waterfront vista from the premier view atop the 1833 lighthouse.
From the architects George J. Dietel and John J. Wade, Buffalo City Hall was built between 1929-1931. Buffalo City Hall is an Art Deco masterpiece with outstanding murals depicting the city’s history and industry. Common Council Chamber with exquisite skylight and sculptures are a must-see. Observation Tower gives a spectacular view of the waterfront and the Ellicott radial street design for Buffalo. Closed weekends and holidays.
The view from New Jersey’s tallest lighthouse is just what you’d expect: breathtaking. It’s perhaps the only fitting reward for climbing the 228 stairs it will take you to get to the top.
The Absecon Lighthouse was the brainchild of Dr. Jonathan Pitney, who many refer to as “the father of Atlantic City.” Pitney first proposed the lighthouse in 1830; the government was late in responding to the request and concluded more than a decade later that a lighthouse was unnecessary. Pitney wrote letters and gathered petition signatures for several years before the lighthouse was finally approved and completed in 1857.
The 171-foot lighthouse (the third-tallest in the U.S.) shone with a kerosene flame through a French-made first-order Fresnel lens, though the kerosene light was eventually replaced with an electric one.
Today the lighthouse is a landmark tourism attraction, drawing visitors from around New Jersey and the country.
The Martello Tower is situated on the south coast of Barbuda. It was built in the early 1800s as a defence base for the British, to stand guard over the river landing, the island’s original quay.
Its name was derived from a tower Cape Martella in Corsica, that the British had difficulty in taking in 1974.
The current fort was erected on the site of a preexisting fort, presumed to have been built by the Spanish, dating back to 1745. The 32-foot tall tower commands great views over most of the island.
The fort, which was once armed with three guns, is placed near a small stream which only appeared in wet weather.
Built in 1846, Murney Tower is one of the finest Martello Towers in North America and served as military housing for more than 40 years after its completion. A museum since 1925, it has an extensive collection of military and domestic artefacts of 19th-century Kingston.
Drive down Khaleej Al Arabi Street and you will see a modern-day challenger to the Leaning Tower of Pisa.
Capital Gate, developed by Abu Dhabi National Exhibitions Company, has been certified as the ‘World’s Furthest Leaning Man Made Tower,’ by the Guinness World Records.
It leans 18 degrees westwards - more than four times that of Pisa’s famous Leaning Tower. The 160 metre (524.9 ft), 35 storey tower is a postcard image of Abu Dhabi and makes a great holiday snap.
A dramatic architectural statement, this five-tower complex invites residents and visitors to live, work, stay, shop and dine in one destination with panoramic city and Arabian Gulf views.
A benchmark for luxury experiences, the complex includes three residential towers and the 280 metres high, five-star Jumeirah at Etihad Towers hotel.
On Tower 2’s 74th floor, the Observation Deck at 300 offers unbeatable cityscape and island views.
The Avenue at Etihad Towers is one of the world’s most expensive and exclusive collections of boutique shops, with many having luxurious private rooms for private, VIP shopping.
The Old Port of Montreal is the historic port of Montreal, Quebec, Canada. Located in Old Montreal, it stretches for over two kilometres along the St-Lawrence River in Old Montreal. It was used as early as 1611, when French fur traders as a trading post.
The Old Port was redeveloped in the early 1990s, under the direction of architects Aurèle Cardinal and Peter Rose. Today it is a recreational and historical area and draws six million tourists annually.
Old Port offers access to a wide variety of activities, including the Montreal Science Centre, with an IMAX Theatre, and the Montreal Clock Tower. It offers riverfront access for walking, cycling, roller-blading, quadricycle, pedalo and Segway rentals.
Towers of Silence in Yazd city are raised circular structures where Zoroastrians would leave the dead bodies to deflesh since ancient times. As one of the main Yazd attractions, no tourist affords to miss a visit to the daunting Towers of Silence.
Now, Where is the Tower of Silence? Well-preserved Zoroastrian Towers of Silence are found in Yazd, which is home to the majority of Zoroastrian community in Iran. Towers of Silence offer visitors an unmissable story behind Zoroastrian beliefs, on top of all, the answer to the much asked question: What did Zoroastrians do with dead bodies and why?
Towers of Silence (or Dakhma) were constructed atop hills or low mountains in desert locations distant from population centers.
Today, the only extant towers of Silence are found in Iran (cities like Yazd, Kerman, Shiraz, …) and India, where Parsi communities exist.
The leaning tower, constructed with the sponsorship of the Demidov dynasty, is the symbol of Nevyansk and a monument of industrial architecture.The tower has several levels and floors. Earlier it hosted a lab for examining the content of manufactured iron, the factory's archives, the chancellor's office, and the lockup cell. Today it contains museum exhibits. Akinfiy Demidov's office, which served as a prison in Soviet times, was located on the second floor.To this day there is still a so-called «listening room». If you stand in one corner of the room, you can hear the tiniest whisper of people in the opposite corner. In addition, the Nevyansk tower has preserved its 18th-century clock tower. This chiming clock was manufactured in the 1730s by an English clockmaker, Richard Phelps, and had needed repairs only three times since. There was a time when the clock could play up to 20 musical pieces. Today, every 15 minutes the clock chimes the melody «Glory to You» from the opera «A Life for the Tsar».Another feature of the tower is the metal steeple with a weathercock, bearing the stamped coat-of-arms of the Demidovs. The steeple is grounded. It served as a lightning rod a quarter of a century before Benjamin Franklin invented the first lightning rod in 1725.
Menar Jonban (meaning: Shaking Minarets) is a historic monument in Isfahan city. While the monument dates back to 14th century as a shrine for a Sufi hermit, the shaking minarets are believed to have been built in the Safavid Era (1501-17036).
An anti-earthquake monument is considered as one historical, architectural and scientific site in Iran and is one of the famous sites of the world, and of the top Isfahan tourist attractions.
The reason to name this monument Menar Jonban (Shaking Minarets) is that in spite of the building’s firmness, it shakes in its place. The minarets were shaking every hour for the past few hundred years and are still standing. The major distinguishing feature of the monument is that whenever one minaret is shaking, the other also shakes, along with the whole building and Menar Jonban Isfahan, gets its uniqueness from this feature.
Borujerdi House is a traditional historic house in Kashan city of Isfahan Province. It was built in 1857 by the same architect who built the exquisite house nearby (Tabatabaei House), for its affluent merchant owner, Seyed Mehdi Natanzi. Borujerdi House is a brilliant example of vernacular architecture of the desert region of Iran. The house counts as one of the top Kashan tourist attractions.
Owner of Boroujerdi House Kashan (Borujerdi House), Seyed Mehdi Natanzi a wealthy merchant of Natanz known as Boroujerdi, fell in love with Seyed Jafar Tabatabaei’s daughter (one of the greatest carpet merchants of the time). In order to give him his consent to marry his daughter, he asked Seyed Mehdi Natanzi to build a house similar to his own house!
And he did so! to satisfy the demand of his future bride’s family. After seven years the construction of Andaruni yard (interior yard) and after 11 years the main hall were completed!
On the pedestrian Bauman street, there is a place from which an incredible view of the central part of Kazan can be seen. This is an observation deck on the bell tower of the Epiphany Cathedral, the tallest ancient building in the city stands 74 metres tall.
According to the Archpriest Alexei Derzhavin - abbot of the cathedral, the bell tower was made up of 2,000,000 bricks. Inside it, the Church of John the Baptist, the patron saint of heaven patron Ivan Krivonosov, was opened. The cathedral as well as the observation deck was closed down in the 1930s, and was only restored in 2016.
The Tower of David Museum of the History of Jerusalem is located in the restored ancient Citadel of the Old City near the Jaffa Gate, the historic main entrance to the city. The museum tells the long and fascinating history of Jerusalem starting from the second millennium BCE and ending with the modern city you see today.
The museum’s facade, The Citadel is itself, a fascinating archaeological site, and provides some of the best 360-degree views across the Old City and Modern City available, and comes to life at night with the Tower of David Night Spectacular. As well as its fascinating permanent displays, the museum regularly hosts changing exhibitions as well as lectures, special cultural events and educational programs.
The Tower of David Night Spectacular is an incredible sound and light show, the only one of its kind in the world, in which the walls of The Citadel and Old City are brought to life using amazing audio-visual technologies to provide the story of Jerusalem in a unique experience.
Azrieli Center is a complex comprised of three distinct skyscrapers one circlular, one triangular and one square in the center of Tel Aviv. Named after the founder, Architect David Azrieli.
T he Circular Tower is the second tallest building in Israel. It was completed in 1999 and has 49 floors. The building’s top floor boasts a restaurant, as well as an observation deck with a clear view of the entire city. The Triangular Tower was finished in 1999 and has 46 floors. With 42 floors, including the thirteen-floor Crowne Plaza City Center Hotel, the Square Tower was the last to be completed in 2007. Many of Israel’s most prominent companies are based in or around the Azrieli Center.
At the base of the three office buildings lies one of Israel’s largest shopping malls. The Azrieli Center Mall boasts over 30 fast food and high-quality restaurants and cafes. The shopping opportunities include branches all of Israel’s finest stores, as well as flagship international brand names like H&M, Gap and Mango. The Azrieli Center Mall also houses a fitness center, grocery store, educational learning centers and a rooftop Gymboree.
The Azrieli Center is located on the corner of Begin and Hashalom Streets. It is just a minute from the Hashalom entrance to Ayalon Highway. It is connected by bridge to the Tel Aviv Hashalom Train Station. A bridge in the opposite direction also connects the mall to Hakirya, the Tel Aviv branch of the IDF military intelligence unit.
Puijo hill is the famous landmark of Kuopio, and the ridge of Puijo is among the most popular recreation areas of the city. The hill is 150 metres high, has an observation tower on its peak and is situated close to the city centre of Kuopio.
Puijo Tower provides you with magnificent Finnish scenery and cuisine – not to mention the best window seats! The revolving tower indulges you with views over Kuopio in the middle of the Lakeland. You can order from á la carte menu all day.
Puijo ridge is one of the favourite recreation areas in Kuopio, with its numerous paths and extensive track network. Two nature trails offer a chance to experience the area’s diversity.
You can move freely on most of Puijo ridge. Gathering of berries, mushrooms and other plants is also allowed. Movement is restricted to the paths in the nature conservation area and in the deciduous areas that are less resistant to use.
Clock tower II. It was built in 1906 by Tavlusunlu Salih Usta with the order of Abdülhamit and the support of Kayseri Governor Haydar Bey. The rectangular space next to it was built as a clock room. The 15-meter high tower can be reached by spiral stairs. During the National Struggle period, Anadolu and Rumeli Müdafaa-i Hukuk Cemlığı were used as Kayseri Branch. There is a rectangular opening in the pointed pyramidal cone section covering the tower and a clock bell inside it.
Constructed of cut stone, the structure is divided into three sections with transversely arranged mouldings. There are circular openings arranged for the clock on each side of the upper section.
The Harju ridge and its landmark, the Vesilinna observation tower, greet visitors from nearly all directions. Harju, a popular recreational area, is a pine forest haven in the middle of the city. A jogging track runs around the area, which also has many paths and trails for pedestrians. The main route from the city centre to Harju runs through the majestic Nero stairs at the top end of Gummeruksenkatu. Named after municipal engineer Oskar Nero, the stairs were constructed as a job creation programme in 1925. Today, they may be even better known as the “stairs of knowledge” among residents, because of the university. Or if you ask for directions to the Harju stairs, locals will know what you are talking about.
The Vesilinna tower was built in 1953. It serves as a water and observation tower as well as the location of Café & Restaurant Vesilinna and the Natural History Museum of Central Finland. Its observation deck offers magnificent views in all directions. In addition, the Vesilinna observation tower (also known as the Harju tower) is an essential part of the soundscape in Jyväskylä.
Näsinneula is an observation tower in the Särkänniemi Adventure Park in Tampere that overlooks Lake Näsijärvi. Designed by Pekka Ilveskoski, the tower was constructed in 1970-71 and is the tallest free-standing structure in Finland, as well as being the tallest observation tower in Scandanavia at a height of 168m. The tower features a rotating restaurant, like the one in the Puijo tower in Kuopio, which makes a full revolution in 45 minutes. An elevator brings visitors to a height of 120m where the Pilvilinna café is located, the restaurant, called Näsinneula, is one story higher. The elevator is the fastest in Finland, travelling at a rate of 6 metres per second, and reaches the café in 27 seconds.
Standing grandly at the west end of the town’s harbour, Pafos (Paphos) Castle (Medieval Fort) was originally a Byzantine fort built to protect the harbour, and was rebuilt by the Lusignans in the 13th century, but then dismantled by the Venetians. The Ottomans rebuilt it in the 16th century when they conquered the island. What survives today is the 1592 Ottoman restoration of the western Frankish tower with its Venetian additions. An inscription above the only entrance of the castle bears witness to this restoration.
The main part of the castle is a big square tower that has an enclosed courtyard in the middle. The ground floor consists of a central hall with small rooms on each of its two long sides, which were used as prison cells during Ottoman Rule. There are 12 battlements on the roof, which received a corresponding number of cannons. The Ottomans removed the cannons in 1878, when they handed over the administration of the island to the British, who used the castle as a salt store until 1935, when it was declared an Ancient Monument under the Antiquities Law.