Vianden Castle was built between the 11th and 14th Century on the foundations of a Roman castle and a Carolingian refuge. This Castle-Palace bears the Hohenstaufen characteristics and is one of the largest and finest feudal residences of the Roman and Gothic eras in Europe.
Until the early 15th Century it was home to the powerful Counts of Vianden who could boast of their close connections to the German Imperial Court. The greatest of them, Count Henry I (1220 -1250) was even married to a member of the Capetian family, which ruled France at the time. In 1417, the castle and its lands were inherited by the younger line of the German House of Nassau, which -in 1530- also acquired the French principality of Orange. The castle's most remarkable rooms; the chapel as well as the small and the grand palaces were built in the late 12th and the first half of the 13th Century.
In 1890 the castle became the property of Grand Duke Adolphe of the elder line of Nassau and remained in the hands of the Grand Ducal family until 1977 when it was transferred into state ownership. It has been painstakingly restored to its former glory and today ranks among the most significant historical monuments of Europe. https://www.visitluxembourg.com/en/place/castle/vianden-castle
As the town residence of the Grand Duke, the grand-ducal palace has unquestionably one of the most beautiful façades in the city (Flemish Renaissance, 16th century). Majestical interior and splendid above stairs (with light design by Ingo Maurer) can be visited exclusively during summer. https://www.visitluxembourg.com/en/place/castle/palace-of-the-grand-dukes
The old castle, protected by a moat, was built in four periods. The oldest part of the castle dates from the early 11th century. It was a small square-shaped fortress on a massive rock, surrounded by a wide ditch and a second wall facing the valley. Around the first half of the 12th century, a flanking tower was added and the access gate was moved and enlarged. http://www.visitluxembourg.com/en/place/castle/beaufort-castle
In 963, Count Siegfried built a fortified castle on the Bock promontory, which was soon to become the cradle of the city. In the course of the centuries, on the western side, mighty ring walls were added, which, however, did not foil the Burgundians in their attempt to conquer the city in 1443. The best builder-engineers of the new masters (the Burgundians, the Spaniards, the French, the Austrians and the German Confederation) eventually turned the city into one of the most powerful emplacements in the world, the "Gibraltar of the North". Its defences were bolstered by three fortified rings with 24 forts, 16 other strong defensive works and a unique 23 km long network of casemates: these could not only shelter thousands of soldiers and their horses, but also housed workshops, kitchens, bakeries, slaughter-houses etc. https://www.visitluxembourg.com/en/place/castle/bock-casemates-luxembourg
The cathedral "Notre-Dame" of Luxembourg was built between 1613 and 1621 by the Jesuits to serve as a church to their college (now the National Library). The north gate is characteristic of the semi-Renaissance, semi-Baroque style of the period. Since 1794, it has housed the statue of the Consoler of the Afflicted. A cathedral church in 1870, it was enlarged from 1935 to 1938. The choir screen in richly sculpted alabaster, columns decorated with arabesques, stained glass from the 19th and 20th centuries, neo-Gothic confessionals, modern sculptures in bas relief, bronze gates by Auguste Trémont, are all worthy of this splendid sanctuary. The crypt is the resting place of John the Blind, King of Bohemia and Count of Luxembourg, as well as deceased members of the Grand Ducal family; the two lions flanking the entrance are also the work of Auguste Trémont. https://www.visitluxembourg.com/en/place/misc/cathedrale-notre-dame
The Municipal Park, an English park laid out by landscape engineer Edouard André on the old fortified grounds at the front of the plain, is a real island of green in the heart of the city. Green spaces such as the Kinnékswiss in the city centre are the ideal place to recharge your batteries. http://www.visitluxembourg.com/en/place/parkgarden/edouard-andre-municipal-park
The name Luxembourg was first mentioned in 963 when count Siegfried exchanged lands for a small fortified castle by the name of Lucilinburhuc. Throughout the Middle Ages, the House of Luxembourg considerably extended its territory and power. Between 963 and 1443 Luxembourg was independent, at first as a County, then since 1354 as a Duchy. In the 14th Century and the first half of the 15th Century, four Holy Roman Emperors and four Kings of Bohemia came out of the House of Luxembourg.
Thanks to its strategic position in Europe and its formidable fortress - referred to as “Gibraltar of the North” - Luxembourg was much coveted. Thus -between 1443 and 1815- the castle of Siegfried had to endure a succession of Burgundian, Spanish, French and Austrian rulers who each shaped the fortress and the surrounding countryside.
After the defeat of Napoleon, the Powers of the time gathered at the Congress of Vienna in 1815 to reorganise Europe. Due to the importance of the fortress they decided to create a new country around the fortified castle on the Bock: the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. https://www.visitluxembourg.com/en/place/castle/the-former-castle-of-the-counts-of-luxembourg
The Vauban Circular Walk, named after the French fortress builder Sébastien le Prestre de Vauban (1633-1707), leads the visitor through one part of the fortifications of the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. Guided visits for groups up to 25 people on request. Circular walk also accessible without guide. https://www.visitluxembourg.com/en/place/misc/circular-walk-vauban-luxembourg
National Museum of History and Art, archeological section. The museum has a large archaeological collection, particularly of objects discovered during the various excavations: sarcophaguses, tools, coins, jewels, grave markers, etc. the most outstanding objects being found in the excavations at Dalheim (Ricciacus) and Titelberg. The visual arts section of this museum in the capital offers the possibility of admiring a wide range of Luxembourgish painting from the 18th to the 20th century, including the post-impressionist watercolours of Sosthène Weis, paintings by Joseph Kutter, Dominique Lang, Eugène Mousset, Jean-Pierre Beckius, Nico Klopp and Auguste Trémont as well as sculptures by Auguste Trémont and Lucien Wercollier. While the museum also houses ancient sculptures and paintings (including a Charity attributed to Cranach), it also has a collection of contemporary art of undeniable originality. https://www.visitluxembourg.com/en/place/museum/national-museum-of-history-and-art-luxembourg
Their origin goes back to 1644, when the Spaniards reinforced the medieval fortifications. Under the supervision of the Swiss fortress builder Isaac von Treybach, they built - among other defence works-the powerful Beck Bastion, named after Governor Baron Johann von Beck, a native of the city who had played a key role in the Wallenstein affair on the side of the Emperor. Initially this bastion was as high as the adjacent terraces on the right; it was raised to the present level of Constitution Square (the wall is 27 meters high) by Vauban in 1685. In 1673 the Spaniards erected the so-called "Ravelin du Pate" to strengthen the defence of the Beck Bastion; this triangular construction is one of the few well-kept fortifications. Marshall de Vauban conferred the present shape to all the Petrusse fortifications and built the "Small Staircase". From 1728-29 the Austrians added the "Bourbon Lock" and the "Large Staircase" and in 1746 the casemates of the "Petrusse Battery" (54 gun emplacements). One century passed and the fortress was enlarged and reinforced: the second ring was extended and the third started, so that Luxembourg became the "Gibraltar of the North". By and by, the Petrusse fortifications fell into oblivion and neglect, as their strategic momentum limited itself to the valley. After the dismantling, stipulated by the 1867 London Treaty, they confined themselves to walling up the loopholes and most entrances. Only in 1933 were the Petrusse casemates valorized again: on 26th July, the first visitors were able to visit them. https://www.visitluxembourg.com/en/place/castle/petrusse-casemates
The new building of the National Museum of Natural History opened its doors to the public in December 1996. In this modern museum are presented in ten exhibition rooms the people, the regions and landscapes of Luxembourg and the development of life on earth as well as the origin of the universe. http://www.visitluxembourg.com/en/place/museum/national-museum-of-natural-history-natur-musee-luxembourg
The Palace Church (Schlosskirche) is the landmark of the town, with its two 55 m. high domed towers of Rorschach sandstone, visible from far out on the lake. http://en.friedrichshafen.info/discover/sightseeing/palace-church/
Going back into the early Middle Ages, a wall defined an area surrounding the Cathedral, the close, whose center today comprises, along with the Cathedral, the recently redesigned Cathedral Square with the grandiose view onto the Romanesque west façade of the Cathedral and the Early Gothic Church of Our Lady. http://www.trier-info.de/english/cathedral-square-info
For the newly arrived guest, the Porta Nigra is the best place to begin a tour of Trier. The gate dates back to a time (about A.D. 180) when the Romans often erected public buildings of huge stone blocks (here, the biggest weigh up to six metric tons). http://www.trier-info.de/english/porta-nigra-info
Construction of the theatre began in 1738 but work was delayed by a number of problems (war, embezzlement etc.). The first theatrical performance only took place 14 years later. However, it is the oldest theatre still in use in France today. http://www.tourisme-metz.com/en/sites-and-monuments/opera-theatre-de-metz-metropole-1_s.html#.Wieaw7T1UWo
Built between 1220 and 1552, it is the product of the unification of two distinct churches. With its 42 metre high vaults, it is one of the highest Gothic edifices in Europe. With its 6,500 m² of stained glass windows, the nickname “God’s lantern” is well merited. http://www.tourisme-metz.com/en/sites-and-monuments/st-stephen-s-cathedral_s.html#.WieZ1rT1UWo
The first decentralized satellite of a French museum, the Centre Pompidou-Metz is a masterpiece of contemporary architecture. Conceptualized by the architects Shigeru Ban and Jean de Gastines, with Philip Gumuchdjian, who also designed the prizewinning project, there are three exhibition spaces covered by an audacious roof inspired by a Chinese hat. http://www.tourisme-metz.com/en/centre-pompidou-metz-et-musees/centre-pompidou-metz_s.html#.WieZ3bT1UWo
The steeple of the late Gothic Schlosskirche (Castle Church) dating from the 15th century was given a Baroque crest by Stengel in 1743. http://www.saarbruecken.de/en/tourism/saarbruecken/sights/schlosskirche_castle_church
In the 17th century the castle was rebuilt in the style of the Renaissance, but later destroyed and now only the cellars of this construction remain. In the 18th century Prince Wilhelm Heinrich had his architect Stengel build a new Baroque residence on the same site. Since then the castle has suffered various bouts of destruction and was partially burnt down and reconstructed before being thoroughly and magnificently renovated in 1989. http://www.saarbruecken.de/en/tourism/saarbruecken/sights/saarbruecken_castle
It has been painstakingly renovated and is now a perfect example of 18th-century Baroque beauty. The pope even granted the church the title “Basilica Minor”. Not to be missed are the bronze portal and the entrance area, which were designed by the Saarbrücken artist Ernst Alt.
The church organ is particularly striking. It consists of three individual parts, the main organ and the two choir organs. They can be played individually or together. The St. Johann Basilica organ is hence composed of 60 sounding stops and a total of 4,312 pipes. This remarkable and multifaceted instrument is exceptional in both its construction and its tone spectrum and is renowned far beyond Saarbrücken and the Saarland. https://tourismus.saarbruecken.de/en/discovering/sights/basilica_st_johann
Nestled at the heart of the forests near Spa, by the Fagne de Malchamps, this estate opens its spaces to the public: a panoramic tower, a tree planted park with a pond and picnic area. It is also home to the Musée de la Forêt et des Eaux and to the CRIE.
Le Domaine de Bérinzenne, with its tree-shaded alleys and exceptional views of the region, is a pure invite to relax and dream. From the top of the tower, visitors can see the Fagne, sometimes all the way to the horizon, bathed in sunshine or quite mysterious partly wrapped in mist.
The pleasant Maison de la Nature et de la Forêt (open weekdays) provides information on the region, documentation on the local hikes and features: a nature shop, temporary exhibitions and cafeteria. http://walloniabelgiumtourism.co.uk/en-gb/content/domaine-de-berinzenne-maison-de-la-nature-ardennes-belges
The High Fens-Eifel Nature Park in eastern Belgium is doubtless one of the most beautiful regions in the country. At 72,000 hectares it is also one of the largest and most emblematic nature parks in Wallonia.
With its moorlands and peat bogs, forests and streams, man-made reservoirs, and picturesque villages, the High Fens-Eifel Nature Park offers an amazing palette of landscapes worthy of the most beautiful picture postcards less than an hour from Liège. http://www.parcsnaturelsdewallonie.be/en/parcs/hautes-fagnes-eifel/
The Museum of Laundry, in the old part of the city, offers you a journey through the history of soap, laundry and the living and working conditions of laundresses in Spa.
Some twenty rooms tell you how women - and sometimes men - did the laundry from antiquity to the present day. You can admire the first wooden washing machines, discover the products used before the invention of soap, see amazing machines working... and learn how soap was invented and which processes were found to whiten linen. http://walloniabelgiumtourism.co.uk/en-gb/produit/attractions/activites/musea/discoveries/musee-de-la-lessive-laundry-museum-in-spa/9258
Vibrant activities within ancient walls, a medieval townscape with idyllic half-timbered houses, narrow streets and cobblestones.
Monschau is the cultural centre of an entire region and one of the most popular holiday and excursion destinations in the Eifel.
More than 350 kilometres of signposted trails to the right and the left of the Eifelsteig will lead you through paths of adventure, e.g., along the imposing beech hedges, to the blooming narcissi meadows and up through the Hohe Venn (High Fens), a raised bog that is absolutely unique in its kind within Europe. https://www.monschau.de/en/
Woods, water, wilderness - the only National Park in North Rhine-Westfalia is worth exploring with a ranger.
The Eifel National Park extends over an area of approx. 110 square kilometres in the middle of the Hohes Venn Eifel nature park. The large protected area offers almost entirely undisturbed living space for wild cats and black storks, among other animals. In the early summer, the yellow broom flowers turn the Eifel National Park golden. https://www.eifel.info/en/nature/the-eifel-national-park
If you like it tranquil, treat yourself and your family to a boat trip over one or more lakes in the Eifel Lake District and enjoy the beautiful landscape from the water.
Four passenger ships with their crews provide the framework for a few pleasant hours in the Eifel. With the RURSEE-BAHN you can take a one-hour tour to the nearby spa town of Heimbach. During this romantic drive over Hasenfeld, through the town of Heimbach, along the castle, the small reservoir, the art nouveau power plant and adjacent national park, you will learn about these sights. https://www.rurseeschifffahrt.de/index.php?willkommen-an-bord-2
The university Aquarium-Museum, pole of excellence of animal biodiversity, has been labelled « Museological Institution of Category A » by the Wallonia-Brussels Federation and has been accredited « Tourist Attraction 4 suns » by the Public Service of Wallonia.
Approximately 2,500 representatives of 250 species of ocean, sea, lake and river fish from around the world populate the 46 pools of the Aquarium and nearly 20,000 stuffed animals from every continent are exhibited at the museum. https://www.visitezliege.be/en/aquarium-museum
Discovering 7000 years of art and history!
What is the Grand Curtius Museum? This museum contains more than 7000 years of regional and international artefacts and more than 5200 items displayed in chronological or thematic order. You also can find prestigious collections from the archaeology, decorative arts, religious art and Mosan arts, as well as the weaponry and glass.
The Grand Curtius located in the historical heart of the Ardent City, the Grand Curtius offers a fresh perspective of the city, houses gardens and a cafeteria that are open all year round. https://www.visitezliege.be/en/le-grand-curtius
This private mansion, built in approximately 1740 for a banker, pays witness, through its architectural features and decorative arts that are typical of Liège, to the sophisticated lifestyle of this era. Art objects are on display, whilst furniture from Liège and the rest of Europe depict what the interiors of the time would have resembled. The Ansembourg Museum also proposes exhibitions throughout the year which promote one aspect or another of the collections from Liège's museums.
For the Ansembourg Museum, this beautiful mansion built around 1740, the first phase of restoration will soon begin. In 1903, the city of Liège acquired the building, which in 1905 became its museum of archaeology and decorative arts. https://www.liege.be/en/discover/culture/museums/ansembourg-museum
Kornelimünster is located in the Inde valley, and is Aachen’s most picturesque district. The historic centre, which surrounds the Medieval priory church, St. Kornelius, has remained almost entirely intact today, and invites visitors to walk around and spend a few hours there.
As well as its wonderful, historic town centre, Kornelimünster is also a good starting point for a large number of expeditions to the surrounding area. Whether you prefer leisurely cycling on the Vennbahn track, mountain bike tours or hiking on the Eifelsteig – here, there’s something for everyone. https://www.aachen-tourismus.de/en/discover/sights/kornelimuenster-the-eifel/
A little bit further from the city you can discover the largest and most exciting labyrinth in the Netherlands and much more. You try to reach the green heart. Wandering the way to the center. But watch out for the spontaneously spraying water walls!
In addition to the unique entrance building with a giant butterfly-shaped roof, a water playground with dozens of fountains has been laid out. This is beautiful to look at, fun to walk through and play with! https://www.drielandenpunt.nl/dagje-drielandenpunt/labyrint/
Charlemagne intended his Church of St. Mary to become a complete image of the Heavenly Jerusalem, symbolizing the contact of the Earthly and the Heavenly. After app. 20 years of construction this vision was architecturally and liturgically realized around the year 803. The significance of the church arises from its 1200year old history: burial place of Charlemagne, coronation church for the Roman-German kings and Pilgrimage Church attracting the faithful from all over the world every seven years. https://www.aachenerdom.de/
Charlemagne's palace, the era of coronations and the tradition of pilgrimages have produced an unique and magnificent church treasure whose most famous pieces are on show today in the Cathedral Treasury. The oldest piece is a Roman sarcophagus which portrays a scene from ancient mythology, and in which Charlemagne was initially buried. From Charlemagne's palatine school in Aachen comes a book cover carved from ivory and showing scenes from the story of Christ's resurrection. According to medieval legend, several other pieces of the Cathedral treasure belonged to Charlemagne himself, one of them a hunting horn fashioned from the tusk of an elephant. http://www.route-charlemagne.eu/Stationen/Dom/Domschatzkammer/index.html?lang=EN
Located between the Puppenbrunnen, the city hall and the Bahkauv, the Hof square has something to offer everyone, and is a good place to spend a few hours with its restaurants, bars and cafés. Take a break here, lean back and take it easy, Aachen-style.
Starting from the Hof, walk down the Medieval-style Körbergasse, past the traditionalist Plum’s Kaffee coffee roasting house and the basket weaver’s “Korb Bayer”, which first opened its doors in 1865, until you reach a symbol of the city: the “Printenmädchen”, or “little gingerbread girl”. Now enter Aachen’s oldest coffee shop, the Alt Aachener Café-Stuben van den Daele, which was founded in 1890. The rooms, which are full of nooks and crannies, and the many stairs in this historic building, give the café its particular charm. https://www.aachen-tourismus.de/en/discover/sights/hof/
The historic façade is already an indication of the building’s glorious history: 50 rulers, 31 of whom were crowned in Aachen, surround the central figures of Charlemagne, the Holy Mary and Pope Leo III. In the elaborately decorated rooms, too, the story of the city hall, which was built on the historic site of the great palace hall of Emperor Charlemagne, is brought to life. In the coronation hall, where formerly the rulers took a meal after being crowned, copies of the imperial regalia remind us of this glorious era today. https://www.aachen-tourismus.de/en/discover/sights/town-hall/
Experience the natural power of the Bad Aachener mineral-thermal water.
The Carolus Thermen has continued this tradition in the best sense and offers a bathing world without compare in a beautifully designed thermal area. Let the natural power of the healing thermal water fill your senses and experience moments of complete wellbeing.
Eight indoor and outdoor pools of various temperatures with many different attractions, the unique brine steam bath “Strokkur”, a beautiful sun terrace and our wonderful Carolus Beach create the perfect ambience to switch off completely and gather new strength. https://www.carolus-thermen.de/en/thermalbath/
Located not far from the Electoral Palace, the Koblenz Theatre is one of the only surviving examples of classical theatre construction on the Middle Rhine, and is the earliest example of a gallery theatre in Germany (as opposed to the earlier box theatre). http://www.koblenz-tourism.com/culture/koblenz-attractions/koblenz-theatre.html
The Electoral Palace in Koblenz is one of the most important palatial buildings in the French early Classicism style in south-western Germany, and is one of the last residential palaces that was built in Germany shortly before the French revolution. http://www.koblenz-tourism.com/culture/koblenz-attractions/electoral-palace.html
The establishment of the Teutonic Order at the confluence of the Rhine and Moselle in 1216 gave this historic site its name, the “Deutsches Eck” (“German Corner”). Koblenz also owes its name to the meeting point of the Rhine and the Moselle - from “Castellum apud Confluentes”, Latin for “fort at the confluence”, which over time became the current name of Koblenz. http://www.koblenz-tourism.com/culture/koblenz-attractions/deutsches-eck.html
In one of the highest spots in Holland, miles of tunnels make for a unique experience. A tour beneath Saint Peter’s Mount near Maastricht allows you to explore the caves that were excavated by men through the centuries. https://www.holland.com/global/tourism/destinations/maastricht/caves-of-st-peter.htm
Saint Peter’s Fortress was built on St. Peter’s Mount in the early 18th century. It’s initial purpose was military, allowing the people of Maastricht to defend the city from the French. While successful for a long time, the city had to surrender in the end. https://www.holland.com/global/tourism/destinations/maastricht/fort-st-pieter.htm
The best-known market in Maastricht is the one held on the square of the same name, Markt. Surrounding by stately mansions and the imposing city hall, Maastricht’s main market is set up here every Wednesday and Friday. https://www.holland.com/global/tourism/destinations/maastricht/markets-of-maastricht.htm
The Glass Museum, at the Bois du Cazier in Marcinelle, retraces five thousand years of art, history and technology.
The collections are presented from an innovative angle: a backwards chronology invites the visitor on a completely new voyage, from the present day to the origins of glass.
Also available Glass-blowing demonstrations with a blowtorch in the workshop.
Guided tours can be arranged in Dutch, English, French or Italian. Booking required. https://walloniabelgiumtourism.co.uk/en-gb/content/glass-museum-bois-du-cazier