Enjoy a degustation session of quality wine in the cool cellars of the monastery in Louka, where the largest producer of wine in the Czech Republic, the joint stock company Znovín Znojmo, is currently located. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/louka-monastery/
Even though it is the smallest Czech national park, the Podyjí National Park is among the most important natural sites in Central Europe. Here you will find an exceptionally well-preserved river valley in a richly wooded landscape full of breathtaking scenery. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/podyji-national-park/
The Znojmo Underground extends over several levels and is one of the largest underground labyrinths in Central Europe. Decide whether you would rather take the traditional tour, which mainly introduces you to the history of the city, or have a spookier experience on a less traditional tour along an alternative route. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/znojmo-underground/
One of the most picturesque castles in Moravia. The silhouette of this monumental castle in South Moravia is visible from afar. In its time it has played host to a number of important personalities, such as French Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/mikulov-castle/
In the footsteps of the Golem to the Jewish Museum in Mikulov. For centuries Mikulov was a major Jewish centre in Moravia. This means their heritage is still very much an on-going concern. Come and visit the local museum and reveal the turbulent fate of the Jewish population, one which produced Rabbi Löw, a figure enveloped in myths and legends. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/mikulov-jewish-museum/
The great fire of the original wooden houses in 1584 gave rise to Mikulov square in its present form. Part of the square, which is also the entrance to Mikulov Castle, is formed by houses with a Renaissance core and picturesque arcades.
Probably the most interesting of the Renaissance buildings is the bourgeois Knights’ House (dům U Rytířů), which was created after the rebuilding of several Gothic buildings in the second half of the 16th century. At first glance, you can not overlook it on the square due to its sgraffito decoration with biblical and ancient scenes covering two-thirds of the house. The painting draws attention to the fact that it was originally a two-story house. Another feature of the square is the statue of the Holy Trinity, in addition to showing the Trinity it also displays angels that symbolize faith, hope and love. The column is complemented by statues of St. John of Nepomuk, St. Francis Xavier and Charles Borromeo, who were supposed to protect the inhabitants of the city from the plague. The Plague Column was built during the reign of the Dietrichsteins in 1724. http://www.czechtourism.com/a/mikulov-historic-market-square/
The castle was held in possession of various noblemen and its history is interwoven with a number of myths and legends. Today it is a venue of various cultural and social events. At the foot of the castle there is a steamboat stop. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/brno-veveri-castle/
A popular recreational resort and an ideal place for all kinds of water sports. The banks are lined with sport facilities, restaurants, pubs and kiosks. The regular water transport line serving the route Brno - Veverská Bítýška is in operation every year from April to September. The visitors coming from the city centre can get to the reservoir by public transport. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/brno-reservoir/
A prison shrouded in horrific legends, valuable historical collections, a beautiful view over the city and many cultural events held throughout the year – all of this is Špilberk Castle. One of the two most important dominant features of the Moravian capital and a place which became synonymous with the most horrific of dungeons throughout the whole of Europe is nowadays one of the most valuable monuments in Brno.
Špilberk’s importance and role changed fundamentally over the course of the centuries. This leading royal castle and seat of the Moravian margraves, gradually transformed into a monumental Baroque fortress, the toughest prison of the Austrian monarchy and later a military barracks. Nowadays it is home to Brno City Museum and one of the most important cultural centres in the city. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/spilberk-castle/
Once a small Romanesque Basilica on Petrov Hill, later rebuilt in the Gothic style, the cathedral was built in 1777 after the Brno bishopric was created. Now its two tall towers, together with Špilberk Castle , form the characteristic silhouette of the city of Brno. In addition to the interior, the Romanesque-Gothic crypt and view from the two towers are a must. The Diocesan Museum and Information Centre is located nearby. The noon ringing at 11 o’clock is part of the legend of the Swedish siege during the Thirty Years War. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/brno-st-peter-and-pauls-cathedral/
The museum was created back in 1817 by means of an imperial decree by František I, and nowadays it contains over six million items. Take a closer look at prehistoric life in Pavilon Anthropos where you will see a life-size mammoth and all the things a prehistoric family had to face. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/brno-moravian-museum/
The Brno Dragon and Brno Wheel are well-known symbols of the city and are linked with several legends. You can only see them with your own eyes in the building of the former Town Hall in the Moravian Capital near to Zelný trh. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/brno-old-town-hall/
Proof of the fact that the Moravian capital still has its secrets, is the newly renovated Brno underground under Zelný trh. It was only recently that a tour route was opened here for the general public, which leads under the surface of one of the oldest squares in Brno. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/brno-underground/
Lužánky Park was established in 1786 as one of the first public parks in Central Europe. In the middle of the park, you can visit the Renaissance Revival pavilion from 1855 by Viennese architect Ludwig Förster, which has held balls, concerts, celebrations, and various expositions over the years. Today, the building goes by the name Kasino and serves mainly as a leisure-time centre for children.
The park as we know it was created in 1840 by city gardener Antonín Šebánek. In addition to the park’s precious trees, visitors may enjoy watching colourful fish in the stream and cute piglets – a favourite attraction for the park’s youngest visitors. There’s also a playground for children to enjoy and get some energy out.
Lužánky is an ideal place for sporting as well as social activities, as locals come here to jog, play tennis, pétanque, and volleyball, exercise in an outdoor gym, or get a bite to eat at one of a number of nearby restaurants. Visitors can also use a public grill for barbecuing. https://www.gotobrno.cz/en/place/park-luzanky/
Villa Tugendhat has borne witness to the birth of modern housing and also to the tragic fate of the people who lived there. This work by the famous German architect Mies van der Rohe is to this very day regarded as one of the four most important villas in the world. Thanks to its values, this gem of modern architecture has also been included in the UNESCO world heritage list. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/brno-unesco-tugendhat-villa/
Krems is a famous wine region and produced one of the finest bottles since 1983.
Winzer Krems, Sandgrube 13, is one of the best-known wine addresses in Austria. Its setting is unique: at the gateway to the World Heritage cultural landscape of the Wachau, one of the most beautiful stretches of river valley in Europe. Pleasurable in the truest sense of the world.
he centre of this region is the small picturesque town of Krems, situated in the Danube valley, marking the eastern border of one of Europe's most beautiful river landscapes - the Wachau.
Most of the vineyards in Krems are placed on sun exposed primary rock and loess terraces with difficult access. The basis for the quality wines from Krems is provided by the special soil an climate conditions. The influence of the river Danube produces a mix of warm air from the South-East and cool spicy air from the North. From this micro-climate and from the soil of wLoessW or the prehistoric rock the vines create that distinctive aroma full of fruit which distinguishes wines from WINZER KREMS. https://www.winzerkrems.at/en/
The Monument to the Nibelungs or Nibelung Fountain is dedicated to a scene from the great medieval German epos: the meeting of Kriemhild, Queen of Burgundy, and Etzel, King of the Huns, in Tulln. It is depicted in a set of bronze sculptures by sculpture Michail Nogin.
The Nibelung Fountain is truly a sight to behold on summer nights. An integrated and esthetic light-water-stone composition of the fountain sculptor Hans Muhr lends the artwork even more depth: the fountains of water rise out of an open book – Lay of the Nibelung.
The fountains alternately become stronger on each side until their streams of water finally touch and mix – this feature also corresponds to the symbolism of two worlds, East and West, approaching each other in Tulln. http://erleben.tulln.at/en/art/major-sights/monument-to-the-nibelungs/
As you look at the hustle and bustle on the main square in Tulln, it is fun to remember that people were scurrying across this same spot 2,000 years ago. The Roman Museum in Marcus Aurelius Park can help to trigger your imagination. It exhibits a host of original finds, plus pictures, figurines, dioramas and models that show visitors what life was like at the Roman Cavalry Fort Comagena from about 90 AD to 488 AD.
Visitors can learn interesting things about the Roman province of Noricum. They are provided with an illustrated documentation of other Roman fortifications in the Tulln area plus a depiction of military life at Fort Comagena. A model of the fort indicates its footprint in the current town map. We walk many of the same streets today that the Romans did.
Visitors can admire extensive objects documenting civilian life: jewellery, glasses and pottery, inscription stones and remains of tombs plus a large hoard of coins. A couple in Celtic costumes shows the clothing of the local populace. A wall fresco painted in accordance with original finds illustrates Roman domestic culture also along the frontier of the empire. In addition, the Roman Museum offers finds consisting of a selection of grave goods to show burial customs. http://erleben.tulln.at/en/danube/roman/roman-museum/
The Wien Museum enables us to travel back in time to the Vienna of the 2nd and 3rd centuries. In the Roman Museum on the Hoher Markt in the 1st district of Vienna you can admire Vindobona.
Visitors will be able to experience ancient Vienna with all their senses through digital reconstructions. Combined with the remaining remains of the tribune houses and the 300 exhibits in the basement, a fascinating insight into the daily lives of the soldiers and inhabitants of Vindobona is provided.
The 300 exhibits of the permanent exhibition were supplemented with digital reconstructions. At various gaming stations, animation films about the supply of Vindobona, replicas for attacking and a Playmobil® legionary camp are presented. https://www.vienna-trips.at/en/roman-museum-vindobona/
The former city prison of Tulln opened in 1990 on the occasion of the 100th birthday of Egon Schiele as the first museum dedicated exclusively to the life and work of the artist. To date yearly 6000 visitors come from all over the world to get an idea of the artistic beginnings of Egon Schiele.
The partly preserved prison cells pose challenges for the design of exhibitions, but also contribute to the distinctive ambience of the museum. A specially furnished studio in the attic allows guests of all ages, not only to look at pictures, but also to create them. https://www.schielemuseum.at/en
The Tulln parish church is around 1,000 years old and was among the early parish churches to be established by the Babenbergs. The charter from Emperor Heinrich II dates back to 1014.
The church combines multiple architectural styles. An Ottonian Romanesque core is juxtaposed with a Gothic chancel and Baroque towers and a Baroque interior. Of particular historical note is the Romanesque west portal, known as the Apostles’ Gate. The marble altar and the magnificent choir stalls are also features of the church that visitors will not want to miss.
The two towers are signs of the church visible from far and wide. They have an interesting story. The south tower belongs to the parish whereas the north one is owned by the city of Tulln. In earlier times, the tower watchman had his lookout and abode in the city tower. His job was to ring the bells to warn citizens if a fire broke out within city limits. http://erleben.tulln.at/en/art/major-sights/parish-church/
From April to October, Garden Tulln is the main attraction in town for gardening enthusiasts. Garden Tulln opened as a garden show for the province in 2008 and continues to be a showcase project in Europe today with its 70 ecologically maintained extravagant model gardens!
Garden Tulln provides ideas for amateur gardeners, an excursion destination for nature lovers and an adventure land for families. It is a green paradise ideal for strolling and marvelling, playing and entertaining, relaxing and rejuvenating!
Besides the diversity of its individual model gardens, this garden show also has the following attractions in store for all generations:
Treetop trail: View of model gardens and the Danube landscape from 30 meters in the air;
Tips and tricks: Help and advice from gardening pros and nature-in-the-garden experts;
Nature playground: Playing and exploring on the biggest natural adventure playground in Lower Austria. http://erleben.tulln.at/en/garden/garden-city-tulln/garten-tulln/
This Roman Catholic church is the oldest in Krems and was constructed around 1284.
The late-Gothic hall church is stylistically related to the Vienna Dombauhütte and is therefore also referred to as the "little sister" of St. Stephen's Cathedral in Vienna. Inside, the steep Gothic church with its profiled pillars, services, capitals and many other craftsmanship highlights of Gothic architecture impresses. The baroque high altar was built according to plans by Joseph Maria Götz . The altarpiece is by Martin Johann Schmidt , it is called 1756 and shows the Assumption of Mary.
The watchtower, which was built in the east, has been owned by the city since 1616. It was the seat of the city turret and was inhabited until a few decades ago. Opposite the church portal leads the 2004 completely renovated covered Piaristenstiege to Pfarrplatz. https://www.donau.com/en/wachau-nibelungengau-kremstal/outings-activities/excursion-destinations/abbeys-monasteries-churches/abbeys-monasteries-churches/piaristenkirche-krems/119544fc3f5455620aebd86fb028d324/
1236 received the Dominicans of Duke Leopold VI. the order to set up a branch in Krems an der Donau. At about the same time, the Minorites were called to Stein. As early as 1240, the construction of a church was begun , which was vaulted around 1265. It was then built outside the city walls, the so-called Predigertor led through the city wall to Passauerhof with the Ursula chapel.
The chancel of the church dates back to 1330. The impressive sacred space was initially painted colorful, well-preserved remains of which can still be seen today.
The monastery and the church were one of the largest and most representative meeting rooms in the country at the time of construction , serving as a meeting place for the regional parliaments and for meetings of the handicraft mints of the region. The monastery itself was built in the Baroque style and the Gothic cloister was overgrown. A partial reconstruction in the eastern area of the courtyard refers to the disappearance of the gothic colonnade of the complex. http://www.museumkrems.at/Dominikanerkirche.htm
Krems is one of the oldest cities in the land; the first documented reference to it dates to 995. Visitors to the city encounter a millenium of history at every step - on the streets and squares, in old monasteries and churches, in burgher houses and fortification structures.
A stroll through Krems and Stein is always a rewarding experience - and a pleasurable one, with all the cafes, restaurants and heurige bidding passers-by to stop in and enjoy. http://www.krems.gv.at/City_Walking_Tour_through_the_Historical_Center_of_Krems
The most beautiful boulevard in the world is home not only to many of Vienna's best-known sights, such as the Imperial Palace, the Kunsthistorisches Museum and the Natural History Museum, the Vienna State Opera and Parliament. Magnificent palaces, extensive parks and important monuments also line the "display window" of the former Danube monarchy.
Vienna's Ringstrasse is 5.3 kilometers long. Long enough to provide space for numerous monumental buildings, which were built during the period of Historicism in the 1860s to 1890s. Today, the buildings that stand there – from the Vienna State Opera to the Museum of Fine Arts – are among the most important sights in the city of Vienna.
Nobles and rich citizens hurried to build pompous palaces along this magnificent boulevard. Many of these former private homes can still be admired today (mostly, however, only from the outside). The style in which the buildings were built went down in history as the Ringstrasse style (a type of Historicism). It is marked by a pluralism of styles: numerous architectural forms of previous epochs were imitated. https://www.wien.info/en/sightseeing/ringstrasse
The cartoon museum Krems, the only Austrian museum for satirical art, is mainly devoted to political caricature, humorous drawings, comics and illustrations.
Based on the plans of the architect and caricaturist Gustav Peichl/IRONIMUS, the Caricature Museum Krems was built between 2000 and 2001 at Kunstmeile Krems (Art Mile Krems). Austria’s only building to dedicate 780 m² to caricatures, cartoons, comics and satirical art is also fully wheelchair accessible.
Brace yourselves for humour, jokes and satire before you even set foot in the museum. Two of Manfred Deix’ famous figures, Mr. and Mrs. Austria, greet you with big smiles in the forecourt.
This small, but special museum attracts thousands of visitors to Krems every year, the city to the gateway to the Wachau region. https://www.karikaturmuseum.at/en
In the center of Krems, next to the popular pedestrian zone in the historic old town - part of the World Heritage Wachau - is the former Dominican monastery on the grain market. Today the museum krems shows its extensive collections here - in the monumental, impressive complex around the baroque inner courtyard.
A representative selection from the collection of Wachaugemälden was compiled by Christian Thiery of the Schlosshotel Dürnstein. After a long time, all three self-portraits of the Baroque painter Martin Johann Schmidt, called Kremser Schmidt , will be shown from the museum's holdings. And the writer Josef Haslinger has declared his very personal approach to the museum krems.
Special exhibitions of contemporary artists in the former dormitory rooms of the monks upstairs - today " Modern Gallery in the Dominican Monastery" - enrich the museum year, whereby the rooms themselves are remarkable: they provide a unique view of the city center of Krems and thus into hidden insights into the World Heritage Wachau.
Since 2012, the Kremserinnen and Kremsern are also showing current works in the library gallery on the first floor of the monastery. This gallery of the museum krems is open year-round and can be visited free of charge as part of the Stadtbücherei am Körnermarkt next to the museum. http://www.museumkrems.at/Museum.htm
Between late March and early November, the proud red and white DDSG fleet departs for relaxed cruises through the Wachau region, a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage, up to 3 times per day in each direction. A cruise in the Wachau region is always a special experience – no matter if in spring when the apricot and other trees are in full bloom, in summer when you can enjoy bright blue skies, or in autumn when you can watch the afternoon sun bathing the vineyards in red and gold. Our dense timetable gives you many options of experiencing the region from the water between Krems, Dürnstein, Spitz, Emmersdorf and Melk. https://www.ddsg-blue-danube.at/wachau/wachauschifffahrten/?lang=en
The Göttweig Abbey is a treasure overlooking the Wachau from a hill covered by vineyards and forests. Often called the “Austrian Montecassino” because it is visible from great distances—a characteristic that provides epic panoramas when you visit.
Göttweig Abbey was founded in 1083—although the current baroque building was constructed after a fire in the early 18th century. If you visit the abbey today you'll experience High Baroque in all its splendour. For example, the monumental imperial staircase with the ceiling fresco by Paul Troger from 1739 is one of the largest and most beautiful staircases of its kind in the world.
The library and the archives of Göttweig Abbey house a huge trove of visual art and a comprehensive music collection. The abbey shows its art collections during special annual exhibitions staged in the adjoining royal and imperial rooms. The church houses the largest chimes of any church in Austria. To the south you'll find the highest elevated orchard of the famous Wachau apricot, with information on various aspects of the Wachau apricot. https://visitworldheritage.com/en/eu/gttweig-abbey-the-austrian-montecassino/176bf525-ebbe-4cc3-a4db-989158b4c760
Castle was built in the first half of the 14th century. In the 1570s Zacharias of Hradec carried out a major reconstruction and ordered two enclosures for deer nearby. From 17th century to beginning of the 20th century it was used as a hunting castle. http://www.telc.eu/tourist_attractions/rostejn_castle
The largest and most beautiful karst area in central Europe is a place where visitors have their breath taken clean away. The main attraction here is the famous Macocha Abyss, some 138m deep and steeped in terrifying myths and legends. Without doubt the Moravian Karst is one of the natural wonders of the Czech Republic, which will wow every visitor. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/moravian-karst/
An amusement park for many, place of nostalgic dreams for some, oasis of greenery for almost everyone – and the location of the Giant Ferris Wheel, one of Vienna’s most famous symbols. The Vienna Prater is in season from March to October. But the world-famous Giant Ferris Wheel and a few other attractions are open all year round.
The Vienna Prater is entertaining and exciting, but it can also be relaxing and quiet. One part of it contains attractions ranging from a nostalgic merry-go-round to an ultra-modern roller coaster. In the other area, known as the “Green Prater,” one finds widespread meadows to lie on, shady trees, and quiet paths. The motto is to have fun and enjoy yourself.
Today, the Green Prater is a paradise for walkers, runners, bicyclists and horseback riders, and is highly appreciated as a large leisure area within the city limits. To get an overview of this green oasis in the city of Vienna, one best takes the Liliputbahn, a miniature railway spanning more than three miles. https://www.wien.info/en/sightseeing/prater
Column in honour of the Holy Trinity and the crowned queen of heavens, Mary. The Plague Column was erected in 1713 by order of the "Royal Town of Eisenstadt". It was meant to serve as plea to God to free the city from the plague.
On the pedestal there are representations of Saint Rochus, Sebastian, Kajetan, John of Nepomuk and Saint Rosalie. Right above them is a cartouche featuring the coat of arms of the city.
At the feet of Saint Francis there is a plaque with rolled up ends on both sides. On the slender, Corinthian column wrapped with bay leave twigs there are: God the Father and Jesus, as well as the coronation of Mary, above them all hovers the Holy Spirit. https://eisenstadt-leithaland.at/plague-column.html