Towering high above Innsbruck on the wooded Bergisel Hill, the brand-new Bergisel Ski Jump is a sight to behold.
The Tower stands 47 meters tall and provides spectacular views.
he new facilities now can hold 28,000 spectators. Each year, the refurbished Bergisel Stadium plays host to the annual Four Hills Tournament in January and to a Summer Grand Prix Jumping Event.
All Bergisel Stadium facilities, including gondola, elevator, panoramic café, and vantage spot on the jumping platform are open to visitors. From the stylish Restaurant there are uninterrupted panoramic views of the lofty surrounding peaks of Patscherkofel, Nordkette, Hohe Munde and Serles.
Ambras Castle Innsbruck is one of the main attractions in Innsbruck, the capital of the Alps. Its cultural and historic significance is inseparable from the personality of Archduke Ferdinand II (1529-1595), who promoted the arts and sciences as a true Renaissance prince. He established the magnificent Ambras collections and had a museum facility built in the lower castle to house them, designed according to modern criteria from the time.
The exhibition attempts to reconstruct the Archduke’s chamber of art & curiosities, his armoury, his collection of armour from famous heroes and his collection of antiquities. In Ferdinand’s time, the living quarters were located in the upper castle.
Today, the upper castle is home to the Habsburg Portrait Gallery, which features portraits from Albert III (1349-1395) to Emperor Francis I (1768-1835) over three storeys. The collection contains over 200 portraits, including valuable works by famous artists, such as Lukas Cranach, Anton Mor, Tizian, van Dyck and Diego Velásquez.
The ground floor of the upper castle houses a collection of late medieval sculptures and the centrepiece is the St George’s altar that belonged to Emperor Maximilian I.
192 metres! Bungee jumping from the Europabrücke bridge is a truly thrilling and unforgettable experience.
Since Rupert Hirner's first jump on 3 October 1993, this famous structure has been transformed into an ultimate highlight of the bungee-jumping world: thousands of daredevils have already taken the leap into the valley below and one of the world's most spectacular bungee jumps is now open to visitors on more than 60 days of the year!
Innsbruck's most famous landmark shines in the heart of the historic old town. The splendid alcove balcony gets its name from the 2,657 fire-gilded copper tiles that adorn the roof. The building has reigned over medieval houses and shady arcades for over 500 years. It was built by Emperor Maximilian who very much enjoyed the view: from there he would look down over the colourful hustle and bustle of his city, watch jousting tournaments and be revered from below. The shining golden roof can be seen on entering the historic old town but it is also well worth taking a look up close. The structure below the roof is richly adorned with a wide variety of figures and images, including many curiosities.
An exposed backside sticks prominently out from the Golden Roof. Admittedly, it is only a few centimetres in size and it belongs to one of the many figures set below the roof. Why bare facts? This question remains unanswered and is one of the many mysteries that surround the landmark. Maybe the revenge of medieval craftsmen who weren't paid? We can only speculate.
The front of the structure is decorated with a man and two wives: Emperor Maximilian is portrayed next to his wife of the time Bianca Maria Sforza. He didn't like her much, however, and that is why his first wife – Maria von Burgund – also looks out from the relief.
Another eye-catcher: Small men with twisted limbs. They are morisco dancers, who were effectively the breakdancers of the Middle Ages.
The Golden Roof is a must-see for anyone visiting Innsbruck. Come to the historic old town and see for yourself. You can't miss it. In the adjoining museum, you can immerse yourself in the time of Emperor Maximilian.
The mountain at the heart of Innsbruck. The Nordkette is part of Austria’s largest nature park, the Karwendel Nature Park, and can be reached directly from Innsbruck city centre in just a few minutes! The breathtaking 360° view leaves a lasting impression, with the capital of the Alps on one side and Tyrol’s most extensive conservation area on the other.
The Hungerburg funicular enables visitors to reach the Hungerburg in just 8 minutes. There are several stops along the way including the Alpine Zoo, which is a favorite among families. After reaching the Hungerburg station, a short walk across Hermann Buhl Square, named after the world-famous Austrian mountaineer, leads visitors to the cable car station.
The Hafelekar Run is one of the steepest ski runs in Europe. With an incline of 70%, this ski run is reserved for extremely good riders. When the powder is at its best, it is more likely for some locals to be at the Hafelekar than at the workplace. The run for all those who like the extreme!
The location of the Nordkette Single Trail in high-alpine terrain directly above the rooftops of Innsbruck, make it unique worldwide. Riders experience an interplay of steep curves, rock jumps and root passages integrated with northshores and drops.
It takes about 20 minutes to get from the Seegrube Station to the Nordkette Climbing Arena. There are approximately 40 tours which are mainly single-rope routes at the UIAA difficulty levels 4 – 9, which means they are suitable for both beginner and advanced-level climbers.
Also experience the Innsbruck Fixed Rope Climbing Route.The best of the best have climbed on these rocks including mountain legend Hermann Buhl and also Hannes Gasser, who this route is named after. Climb in the footsteps of these climbing greats and experience unique mountain adventure.
Take a stroll, do a bit of shopping, meet friends, sit at one of the many outdoor cafés, admire the magnificent Baroque architecture and savour the city panorama. This is Maria Theresien Street today. But when the street was founded over 700 hundred years ago, there were only a few farm houses here in the New Town. Life still revolved around the Old Town, which was surrounded by powerful medieval city walls and was only accessible from Maria Theresien Street through the St. Jörgen Gate. Today, this marks the start of Herzog Friedrich Straße – the road that leads to the Golden Roof.
However, is wasn’t long before members of the aristocracy began building homes just outside the city gates. The location was much more practical thanks to its close proximity to the local rulers of the time – and the new townhouses were also much more comfortable than the draughty old castles outside of town. During the Baroque period, many of these new houses were converted into magnificent palatial residences. And they are still a delight to behold today, for example Palais Gumpp, the seat of the Tyrolean government, or Palais Trapp directly opposite with its enchanting inner courtyard and café.
From the city centre to the largest nature park in Austria in just 20 minutes! The breathtaking 360° views with Innsbruck on one side and the Karwendel Nature Park on the other are sure to leave a lasting impression.
The modern Hungerburgbahn funicular takes you from the historic old town to the Hungerburg district, via the stop for the Alpine Zoo, in just eight minutes. From there, you cross Hermann-Buhl-Platz square, which is named after the world-famous Austrian mountaineer, and continue to the lift that runs up to the Seegrube. The Seegrube is located at an altitude of 1,905 metres above sea level and attracts daring mountaineers in summer and winter alike. Thanks to the direct connections to the city, everyone can also continue up to the Hafelekar – an absolute highlight at 2,300 metres above sea level with impressive panoramic views and natural alpine surroundings. Visitors can often catch a glimpse of the normally shy wildlife, but the real highlight is the unique panorama of city and mountains which leaves nothing to be desired.
The Imperial Palace was completed in the year 1500 under Emperor Maximilian I (1459-1519). The palace was built to the same scale as is seen today and was captured as a watercolour by Albrecht Dürer. he painting shows a late Gothic courtyard with covered staircase, a Crest Tower and the women’s quarters (or “women’s rooms”). The reception area, which is known today as the “Gothic Cellar”, was built in the style of a large hall with columns and vaults. A “Kürnstube” (home to Maximilian’s hunting trophies), the “Silver chamber” (treasury) and the Festival Hall (with depictions of Hercules) are also reminders of the time.
The “Rennplatz” square in front of the Imperial Palace served as a competition arena to please the sports-loving Emperor.
Almost 250 years later, Maria Theresa (1717-1780) visited the Innsbruck palace and deemed it to be behind the times. There hadn’t been any Tyrolean princes since 1665 and the governor, who reigned Tyrol on behalf of the Emperor, lived in the governor’s quarters on the first floor. The representation rooms on the second floor, which were reserved for the Imperial family, were uninhabited. Maria Theresa arranged for the palace to be rebuilt in the Viennese late Baroque style and sent her best artists to Innsbruck: Konstantin von Walter and Nicolaus Parcassi. Martin van Meytens and his school and Franz Anton Maulbertsch were appointed for the interior. The renovations were interrupted by the Seven Years’ War and, therefore, only completed in the 1770s.
Known to Innsbruck residents as a “locals’ mountain” and a three-time Olympic venue, the Patscherkofel ski resort continues to draw wintersports enthusiasts of all kinds.
With its pistes 1,400 metres above Innsbruck, fabulous views of the Inn Valley and rich sporting history, the Patscherkofel mountain and the ski resort it is home to are legendary within Tirol and beyond. This mighty mountain to the south of the regional capital hosted the Winter Olympics in 1964 and 1976 as well as the inaugural Winter Youth Olympic Games in 2012. Innsbruck locals appreciate the resort's proximity to the city, which is just a 15-minute drive away. One of the main highlights is without a doubt the large snowpark, where budding freestylers gather to dial in their tricks. The resort also has three children's areas at different altitudes, while from the top cable car station ski touring enthusiasts can climb all the way to the summit at 2,248m. Even those who don't fancy the extra few hundred vertical metres can still look forward to a 6km-long run down to the bottom of the resort along piste number 3.
The Court Church is also known by locals as “Schwarzmander Church” thanks to the 28 life-size bronze figures that stand guard, watching over the tomb of Emperor Maximilian I. Strange but true: eight of the “Black Men” (Schwarzmander) are actually women and the Emperor’s tomb is empty. But this beautifully crafted masterpiece is still a work of art and wonderful to behold.
The Emperor’s tomb takes pride of place in the church. However, the building is also home to legendary local heroes, such as freedom fighter Andreas Hofer. In 1809, Andreas Hofer led thousands of brave Tyroleans against the superior force of Napoleonic troops on Bergisel. He was executed for this in Mantua but is still revered as a hero in Innsbruck. The Court Church is also the final resting place of his fellow soldiers Josef Speckbacher, Joachim Haspinger and Kajetan Sweth.
The Silver Chapel is a highlight that shouldn’t be missed on a visit to the Court Church. Two additional famous people from Innsbruck are buried here: Archduke Ferdinand II and his wife Philippine Welser. She was a local superstar during her lifetime: the “Queen of Hearts”, a herbal expert and a bathing beauty who was even accused of witchcraft by malicious tongues. A magnificent silver alter and Madonna by imperial architect Giovanni Lucchese is the main feature of the room alongside another special piece: an organ with pipes made exclusively of wood.
Look out over the rooftops of Innsbruck as the tower guards once did in the Middle Ages. Guards kept watch from the City Tower for almost 450 years, warning citizens of fire and other dangers. The lower storeys also once served as a prison. Today, the tower is there for visitors to enjoy. Over 133 steps lead up to the 31-metre-high viewing platform, which overlooks the medieval streets of Innsbruck and offers stunning views of Bergisel, Patscherkofel mountain, the River Inn and the Nordkette mountain range.
The City Tower is a good 50 years older than the Golden Roof. It was completed in 1450 on the side of the old town hall. It doesn’t seem huge in comparison with modern buildings but 51 metres was very impressive in 1450 and the tower was a proud symbol of the self-confidence of the people of Innsbruck. The onion dome was added 100 years after its completion. Today, the tower still rises up majestically from amongst the medieval buildings in the old town – providing a good vantage point and a romantic view of Innsbruck.
A mighty brown bear roams around its enclosure. A few paces away, otters swim and splash nimbly through the water and a bearded vulture looks down at visitors from high up in a tree. Food? No, don’t worry. It’s well fed and has found a safe haven in the Alpine Zoo. For the animals of the Alps are no less endangered than species from the savanna, jungle and desert. The Alpine Zoo does a great deal for the conservation of biodiversity, providing a home for animals native to the mountains, such as birds of prey, chamois and marmots. Visitors can observe these animals up close – a highlight for the entire family and also well worth a visit for adults!
When the church bells ring in Innsbruck, the wolves at the Alpine Zoo howl along in unison. The graceful lynx remain calm in comparison but become louder to mark their territory during the mating season in February. Their neighbour, the golden eagle, shows no interest at all. Did you know that this species was nearly wiped out in the 19th century? A fate it shares with other animals at the zoo, such as brown bears, wolves and bearded vultures. Some species have now recovered thanks to breeding programmes and reintroduction into the wild, which has included animals from the Alpine Zoo.
Casino Innsbruck is rightly considered one of the most popular casinos in Austria. This is ensured by its privileged location in the centre of Innsbruck, impressive architecture, tasteful interior in its spacious rooms and, of course, the hospitality of its employees. All guests enjoy this exciting casino games, state-of-the-art range of slot machines, gourmet delicacies and top-notch events.
Casino Innsbruck was opened in 1992 and is rightly considered one of the most beautiful casinos in the world. Its favourable location amidst the Tyrolean mountains, its impressive architecture, the tasteful interior in the spacious rooms and of course the warmth of its employees ensure this.
Thanks to its outstanding geographical location, Casino Innsbruck serves the most important markets like Italy, Germany, Switzerland and western Austria. It is just 120 km from Bolzano to Innsbruck, 165 km from Munich and 280 km from Zurich.
World famous & wonderful: Swarovski Crystal Worlds, located just 20 kilometres east of the Capital of the Alps, awaits with new and exciting attractions.
Between 2013 and 2015, the worlds of art and culture, entertainment and shopping were extended to cover an area of 7.5 hectares. The “Home of the Giant” now inspires with a new poetic garden, which features a unique Crystal Cloud made from 800,000 hand-mounted and enchanted floating crystals. This mystical masterpiece is the largest of its kind worldwide and with it Swarovski has set the new standard for brilliantly implemented installations. The Crystal Cloud draws visitors to the Mirror Pool where the sparkling light of the crystals is captured to form a sea of stars both day and night.
The Archaeological Park (APC) in Kempten invites you on a journey of discovery to the oldest city in Germany mentioned in writing. Temple district, small thermal baths, forum with basilica - a large part of the former Roman provincial capital is still recognizable thanks to unique archaeological finds on the high bank of the Iller in Kempten. From the veneration of pagan gods to ancient architecture to bath culture in the Roman Empire, the accompanying exhibition provides an exciting insight into everyday life two millennia ago.
The Zumsteinhaus will be designed and designed as Exhibit No. 1 of the museum so that, after successful renovation, it can reveal much about its history, its first inhabitants and its use at that time.
The Deutsches Museum shows its impressive collection of track and road vehicles in a completely new light. Historical coaches or steam locomotives take you to the roots of mobility. Exhibits and demonstrations clarify the interaction between the pleasure and tribulations of mobility. Motion as the basic principle of life, from inline-skate to Transrapid, is another topic. The exhibition was opened in 2003 in the historic halls of the old Exhibition Center.
Together with the Synagogue and the Jewish Community Center the Jewish Museum Munich forms part of the Jewish Center at St.-Jakobs-Platz. It is situated in immediate proximity to Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt.
The late Baroque Asam Church is located on Sendlingerstraße just a few minutes’ walk away from the Sendlinger Tor (Sendling Gate).
It was erected between 1733 and 1746 by the Asam brothers and bears the official name of St. Johann Nepomuk. Originally planned as a private church for the builder, its Baroque facade is integrated into the row of houses on Sendlingerstraße. Two massive rocks arise from the base of the columns at the entrance. The luxuriously furnished interior breaks from Baroque convention with its proportional distribution.
Munich is the capital of beer - with six breweries, the Hofbräuhaus and the Oktoberfest. Interested in the story of beer? So go into the Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum.
Learn more about the history of beer from migration of peoples, the monasteries, the purity law, and the unique quality of Munich's beer. And what about the story of the Oktoberfest? Established as the national festival for King Luis's wedding with Princess Theresa from Sachsen Hildburghausen to the world's great fair. Moreover, you can visit one of Munich's historical buildings.
"The Kirche St. Peter (“Church of St. Peter”) is one of Munich’s landmarks, the oldest parish church in the city, and is known affectionately by the locals as Alter Peter (“Old Peter”). The church stands on a hill called Petersbergl, which is the only noteworthy elevation within the Munich’s historic Old Town.
Marienplatz is the central square in Old Town, Munich’s urban heart and the central point of the pedestrian zone. To the north is the magnificent neo-Gothic Neues Rathaus (“New Town Hall”), to the east the Altes Rathaus (“Old Town Hall”), and the passageway to Tal and the Viktualienmarkt (farmers’ market). To the south, the square is bordered by stores, office buildings, and restaurants. To the west, the pedestrian zone opens to Kaufingerstraße, which ends at the Karlstor (gate) located at the square known by locals as Stachus.
Marienplatz has been the center of Munich since it was founded in 1158 and is the heart of the city. In the first few centuries, the approximately 100 x 50 meter large area was used as the central marketplace, which is attested to today by the fish fountain on the northeast corner of Marienplatz. In 1638 Elector Maximilian I had the Mariensäule (Mary’s Column) erected in gratitude for the city being spared during the Thirty Years’ War; Marienplatz takes its name from the Mariensäule. The column is used as a reference point in land surveying as the topological center of Bavaria. Today Marienplatz is a center for festivities and political, cultural, or sports events. During Advent, Munich’s oldest traditional Christmas market (“Christkindlmarkt”) takes place here.
The Neue Rathaus (New Town Hall) is a magnificent neo-gothic building from the turn of the century which architecturally dominates the north side of Munich’s Marienplatz.
The almost 100-meter-long (300 feet) main facade on Marienplatz is richly ornamented in neo-gothic style and shows almost the entire line of the house of Wittelsbach in Bavaria. The Glockenspiel in the tower balcony of the Neues Rathaus is also world famous and worth seeing. Since 1908, figurines representing stories from Munich’s history twirl on two levels daily at 11:00 a.m., 12:00 p.m., and 5:00 p.m. (the 5:00 p.m. show is omitted from November through February). In addition to the well-known coopers dancers, the Münchner Kindl (symbol of the city’s coat of arms), and the angel of peace also make an appearance in the almost 12-minute-long spectacle.
At the top of the 85-meter-high (255 feet) tower on the city hall is an observation deck that can be accessed with an elevator and offers a grandiose view of the roofs of the city, even as far as the Alps in nice weather. In the generous and richly painted cellar vault of the Neues Rathaus is the Ratskeller, a traditional Munich restaurant since 1867.
The Munich Residence served as the seat of government and residence of the Bavarian dukes, electors and kings from 1508 to 1918. What began in 1385 as a castle in the north-eastern corner of the city (the Neuveste, or new citadel), was transformed by the rulers over the centuries into a magnificent palace, its buildings and gardens extending further and further into the town.
The rooms and art collections spanning a period that begins with the Renaissance, and extends via the early Baroque and Rococo epochs to Neoclassicism, bear witness to the discriminating taste and the political ambition of the Wittelsbach dynasty.
Much of the Residence was destroyed during the Second World War, and from 1945 it was gradually reconstructed. Today, with the museums of the Bavarian Palace Administration (the Residence Museum itself, the Treasury and the Cuvilliés Theatre) along with other cultural institutions, this is one of the largest museum complexes in Bavaria.
Outstanding works of European art and sculpture from the late 18th to the beginning of the 20th century are in the spotlight of the Neue Pinakothek. One focus is on the German art of the 19th century - this collection, which goes back to the private collection of King Ludwig I, is one of the most comprehensive of all.
The baroque palace in the west part of Munich was the summer residence of the Bavarian monarchs. Five generations of Wittelsbach rulers were involved in the construction of this stately ensemble, which houses several outstanding collections. With its lavishly decorated interior and the famous "Gallery of Beauties" commissioned by Ludwig I, the palace is one of Munich's favorite attractions. Among the highlights are the former bedroom of King Ludwig II and the impressive banquet hall with fine ceiling frescoes by Johann Baptist Zimmermann.
The Nymphenburg Palace west of Munich is one of the largest royal palaces in Europe and is not to be missed on a sight-seeing tour through the Bavarian capital city. The oft-visited Baroque tourist attraction with it’s expansive landscaped garden and museum draws not only guests from around the world, but is also a beloved institution for Munich residents. In 1664, Prince Ferdinand Maria had the castle built as a present to his wife, who had borne him the long-awaited heir, Max Emanuel. Max Emanuel himself later played a significant role in expanding the palace layout.
"The Englische Garten (“English Garden”) is one of the largest urban parks in the world. The layout has undergone constant change throughout the centuries as new buildings and green spaces were added time and again.
At Olympiaberg in Munich, every skier can find just the right slope. The highest hill in the city offers a variety of options for descending: gently descending slopes for everyone who wants to learn to ski and bobsled, and steep descents for those who like to fly across the snow.
The Olympic Park in northern Munich is well known beyond the borders of the capital city. The unique tent architecture of the buildings and the Olympic Tower are some of Munich’s well known landmarks. After the Olympic Games in 1972, a 300-hectare-sized park was developed into a recreation center for the entire city. Joggers, cyclists, and walkers take their laps here, and swimmers do lengths in the Olympic swimming facility.
At over 50 meters (150 feet) high, the Olympic Hill towers over the park grounds and is an ideal spot to enjoy a view of the roofs of Munich and to the mountains beyond.
Exemplary pleasure palace with novel (for the time) ceiling frescoes.
Maximilian Emanuel's "hunting palace" was built to celebrate his marriage to the Emperor's daughter, Maria Antonia, in June 1685. The palace houses an outstanding collection of Meissen porcelain from the Ernst Schneider Foundation. The collection includes over 2,000 valuable plates, table centerpieces and animal figures, and is surpassed only by the collection in the Dresdner Zwinger Palace.
Follow The Cheese Road in the gently undulating Bregenzerwald for the perfect combination of natural beauty and unparallled taste.
The Cheese Road is a unique Bregenzerwald attraction. It isn’t a street or a road in the usual sense, but rather a union of experts from various disciplines. Throughout the whole year, the members organise events, invite people to tasting sessions, and initiate guests into the secrets of cheese production.
Wonderful hiking routes, beautiful view of the Rhine Valley – including in the evening, when the sea of lights sparkles far below.
The Karren is a popular meeting point in the region. For one thing, beautiful hiking routes have their starting point here; for another, life is easy at the panoramic restaurant at 976 metres above sea level. Whether you want to go for something to eat or simply want to enjoy some high-altitude air, the cable car brings you high above the city rooftops in five minutes, giving you a wonderful view: the entire border triangle by day, the sea of lights by night.
Around the turn of the 18th and 19th centuries, Bregenz was still a pronounced baroque city. Today, numerous baroque echoes can still be found in the cityscape. It is primarily church buildings on which the build and design-happy construction style of the 17th and 18th centuries made its mark.
The unique panoramic view of all of Lake Constance
240 alpine peaks of Austria, Germany and Switzerland make the Pfänder by Bregenz, Vorarlberg, one of the region’s most famous viewpoints.
The Pfänder, the local mountain of the people of Bregenz, offers a variety of opportunities for both locals and guests to enjoy memorable outdoor experiences. One of the major advantages is that getting there is extremely convenient. The port as well as the port train station are only seven minutes away on foot. Once one has arrived at the valley station, 600 metres in height are overcome with the Pfänderbahn mountain railway in only six minutes. At the summit at 1,064 metres in altitude, with far-reaching views of the deep-blue Lake Constance, the towns and villages along its bank and of the Austrian and Swiss mountains, it is easy to take a deep breath. A trip to the Pfänder is simply always worth it.
Visit the exhibitions in St. Martin’s Tower and enjoy a picturesque, beautiful panorama over Bregenz and the Upper Town, the Pfänder, Bregenz’s local hill, the Swiss mountains and of course Lake Constance from the window gallery. Bregenz’s landmark is in truth unique. A warehouse from the time of the city’s foundation c. 1250 originally stood there, which was barely higher than the city wall.
he warehouse had a basement, a ground floor higher up and an upper floor. As early as the first half of the 14th century, there was a small chapel room in the upper floor that was separated with wooden walls. In 1362, Count Wilhelm III of Montfort founded St. Martin’s Chapel, which, in the subsequent years, was furnished with magnificent frescos and expanded across the entire upper floor. In the late 15th century, the previously secularly used ground floor was integrated into the chapel room, with the ceiling being torn out, making the room approximately twice as high.
The centre of the new port is the new port building, designed by architects Nägele, Waibel, Spagolla, Ritsch and Steinmann. While visitors can stroll west through the well-known Bregenz lakeside area towards the Bregenz Festival and Conference House, to the north stretches the so-called “Blumenmolo”, at whose top on the side of the lake a lighthouse rises into the sky. At the same time, it marks the western orientation point of the port entrance. Towards the west, direct access to the lake was created through the creation of sunset seating steps.
The State Theatre in Bregenz plays a significant role in the cultural happenings of Vorarlberg’s state capital. The repertoire ranges from classics to debut performances. The theatre, as a place of imagination, stories and emotions, focuses consciously on traditional and contemporary theatre art, thus finding its recognition in the cultural landscape of the Lake Constance region.
The Art House stands in the light of Lake Constance. Its structure is built from glass plates, steel and a stone mass of cast concrete that forms structure and space in the interior of the building. Viewed from outside, the building gives the impression of an illuminant. It absorbs the changing light of the sky and the haze light of the lake, radiates light and colour back and gives an idea of something of its inner life, depending on the angle, the time of day and the weather.
Located between the lake and the city centre, in direct proximity to the Art House and the State Theatre, the architectural masterpiece of the new vorarlberg museum forms the end of the culture boulevard.The main point of attraction is the more than 150,000 artefacts from art, history, folklore and archaeology that deal with the history and present of Austria’s westernmost federal state from a wide range of perspectives.
Inspired by Terra Sigillata vessels, Roman ceramics from the museum collection, the artists used the base of commercial PET bottles as the shape and equipped the outer wall of the museum with a structure that seems random at first glance but that, in reality, was calculated in a complex mathematical process.
Seen from the lake, the historicism facade of the former district commission structures the building. The most noticeable feature is the huge panoramic window on the top floor, which provides a fantastic view of Lake Constance and the Lindau bank, where the guest, stirred by the many impressions, experiences a moment of tranquillity and contemplation.
Bregenz’s Upper Town seems more than just a steep city path away from the touristic hubbub by the lake or the hectic shopping world of the city centre. Even from far away one sees the old city walls, which – depending on one’s character – have a threatening or calming impression on the visitors. As soon as one arrives at the entrance, the historic city gate, one leaves the modern world outside. Historic coats of arms, a mummified shark and the relief of a Celtic goddess immediately plunge everyone into a mystical, mythical world and make them think of time periods in which cults, wars and heretics were commonplace.
The artfully designed Casino Bregenz impresses with its stunning location on the shore of Lake Constance; international casino style and culinary highlights await you during your casino short break in Austria.
The Casino in Bregenz consists of several pavilions, which blend harmoniously into the promenade of the picturesque lake. Architecture and art play a central role in the Casino Bregenz; not only within the design of the actual casino building but also when it comes to supporting the art scene in Bregenz, Austria. Elegance at the live game casino and a more casual atmosphere at the slot machine casino guarantee unique gaming experiences for every interest during a casino short break in Bregenz.
Each summer, in the middle of an enchanting landscape in the westernmost Austrian federal state of Vorarlberg, the Bregenz Festival presents high-calibre opera al fresco with the theatre on the lake. In addition, the festival attracts approximately 200,000 visitors to the border triangle between the Alps and Lake Constance with unforgettable debut opera performances and concertante treasures in the Festival House, unheard material as part of “Kunst aus der Zeit” at the studio theatre, as well as touching gems of operatic literature at the Theater am Kornmarkt in the months of July and August, with more than 80 performances in total.
This striking building from the time of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy is one of the few examples for ring road architecture outside the city of Vienna. A twin building of the post office is found in the imperial spa town of Bad Ischl. Today, the post office includes an exhibition by star Swiss architect Peter Zumthor.