Built-in the year 1906 by Sultan Mohamed Shamsuddeen III, the Mulee’aage Palace is the official residence of the President of the Maldives. Located in front of the Old Friday Mosque in the ward of Henveiru in the historic center of Malé, the shimmering white palace still shines in the same old glory of its earliest years.
Construction of the Mulee’aage (meaning the ‘new house of Muli’) was commissioned by Sultan Muhammad Shamsuddeen III for his son and heir Prince Hassan Izzuddin and began in 1914. Erected on the site of Mulee’ge, the ancestral home of Shamsuddeen, the building was constructed in a bungalow-style, a trend that was in fashion during the colonial era in Ceylon. The palace was completed in preparation for the return of Prince Hassan Izzuddin to Male’ in 1920 after he finished his studies at the Royal College of Colombo.
Medhu Ziyaaryai (literally translated as ‘Central Tomb’) was a part of the original Mulee’aage building, and today, it is separate from the building and an enclave of Mulee’aage. It houses the tomb of Moroccan scholar Abul Barakat Yousef Al-Berberi, who is believed to have introduced Islam to the nation in 1153
The National Art Gallery of the Maldives is located in the heart of Malé and is the only exhibition space of its kind in the Maldives. Established by the Government of Maldives in 1999 to showcase regular displays of Maldivian and international artworks to preserve the history and instill patriotism among the people of the Maldives, the small the gallery has regular exhibitions, showcasing a variety of artworks from photography to paintings and conceptual works, by local and regional artists.
The National Art Gallery showcases solo exhibitions that represent some of the nation’s fledgling art scene, as well as hosts the biennial contemporary exhibition, which highlights the myriad art forms originating from the area, ranging from arts and crafts, conceptual works, and photography.
Visit The National Museum, located inside Sultan Park, which is on the island of Male. The park is situated where the Royal Palace once stood. The museum is housed in the only remaining building of the Royal Palace. A comprehensive collection of royal artifacts is on display: among the noteworthy pieces are several thrones, ceremonial parasols, sedan chairs and some boxes with intricate lacquer designs. There are many statues and other pieces gathered from around the country: statues of monkeys, Buddha heads, Bohomala sculptures, divine figurines, etc. The museum building also houses the National Library and an exhibition space that is regularly used to display Maldivian art.
Sultan Park is also a symbol of Maldivian history. It once played an integral role in the lives of the local people as a popular leisure park. The scenic lawns featured tropical plants, ponds with lilies and large shady trees but are rarely visited by locals today. Two imposing iron gates grant entrance to the park, opposite the Islamic Centre on Medhuziyaaraiy Magu.
National Handicraft Centre, opened on 10th of September 2007, aim to promote and sell quality Maldivian produced handicrafts.
The centre acts as a purchaser and reseller of local handicraft to give these products a better chance of competing with imported goods.
One of the top attractions in the Maldives is the National Museum in Malé. Located in the Sultan Park, which was once a part of the site of the 17th century Maldivian Royal Palace compound, the three-story museum was established in the early 1950s with the purpose of preserving the culture and history of the country and instilling patriotism among the people of the Maldives. The museum is home to an extensive collection of historical artifacts that depict the history and rich cultural heritage of the country, ranging from ancient stone objects to fragments of royal antiquities dating back to the Buddhist era and the rule of Islamic monarchs.
The National Museum complex is comprised of two large buildings separated by Sultan’s Park in the old palace grounds across from the gold-domed Islamic Centre on Medhu Ziyaarai Magu, also known as Grand Friday Mosque.
The National Museum houses a collection of incredible artifacts and relics from the foregone pre-Islamic period era, including ceremonial robes, headgear, thrones, palanquins, royal sunshades and furniture used by Sultans. The museum also exhibits the first printing press used in the country, the rifle used by Mohamed Thakurufaanu in his fight against the Portuguese in the 16th century, and other figures dating from 11th century, excavated from former temples.
There is also an impressive display of age-old cannons, broken pieces of Buddhist and Hindu idols, images of political events, stunning lacquer work boxes, and a replica of the pen that was used to sign the ‘Declaration of Independence’ from the British Empire.
Kerala Folklore Museum is the only architectural museum in Kerala with the essence of the life and culture of the common man over the past 1000 years. It is also a cultural hub which contains:‘Face Art Gallery’- for Art & Antiques; ‘Folklore Theatre’- Live performances of traditional art forms & cultural activities.
‘Spice Art Café’ -, to experience the real culinary taste of traditional Kerala. ‘Souvenir Shop’ - to buy real ethnic antiques and tribal artefacts.
This is a treasure trove of stone, wood and bronze sculptures, ancient terracotta, Stone Age objects, jewellery, paintings, oil lamps, musical instruments, tribal and folk art, woodworks, utensils, masks and traditional art forms etc. There are around 4000 artefacts from tiny to large size on display. This unique cultural project aims to provide art education to the students and to help provide visual and academic knowledge to the art lovers, researchers and travellers from all over the world.
Made by the Portuguese Santa Cruz Basilica in Kochi, this church is one of the eight Basilicas in India. Situated nearby the famous St. Francis Church, this heritage building of Kerala is also one of the finest cathedrals in India and it serves as the cathedral church of the Diocese of Cochin. It's a Roman Catholic Cathedral situated at K.B. Jacob road in Fort Kochi. It's a holy place and the centre of historical significance, endued with artistic splendor and the colors of the medieval style.
Mattancherry in Kochi is most known for the oldest synagogue in the Commonwealth, the Paradesi Synagogue. Built in 1568,this synagogue attracts numerous visitors to this day. It adds to the area's quaint charm and is a great symbol of the love and harmony that exists in the community. 'Paradesi' literally translates to foreigner in most Indian languages. Many of the original members of the community hailed from Kodungalloor, the Middle East and Europe.
The Hill Palace is Kerala's first heritage museum located at Thripunithura in Ernakulam district. It has a huge collection of the former Maharaja of Kochi. At present, this official residence of the royal family has become one of the state's largest archaeological museums. Built in the year 1865, there are 49 buildings in the complex which are designed in the Kerala's architectural style. Spread over 52 acres of land, the complex is beautifully landscaped and houses a deer park and horse riding facilities. The complex of museum is a home to various rare species of medical plants. At present, this museum is protected by the Kerala State Archaeology Department.
The Sahodaran Ayyappan Museum is a fresh combination of interactive and traditional exhibitions representing a truly authentic experience. The museum complex includes traditional thatched roof (coconut leaves) houses, one of them is where Sahodaran Ayyappan was born. This museum has a waterfront view of the River Periyar with MHP Project boat jetty. The museum illustrates the life and work of Sahodaran Ayyappan and his movements against the Caste- Madness of the Kerala Society.
Green path Colombo, formerly Ananda Coomaraswamy Mawatha street that popular for open air events and festive. In every weekend in here maintain art exhibitions. “Kala Pola” is a best example for art exhibition maintain in here.
Synonymous with Madurai is the Meenakshi Sundareswarar twin Temple, the pivot around which the city has evolved. The Meenakshi Temple complex is literally a city - one of the largest of its kind in India and undoubtedly one of the oldest too.
Bangalore Palace is an architectural landmark of the city. The palace is enclosed with manicured garden and houses attractions that interest travelers around the world; like the Palace Ground and Fun World. Fun World is an amusement park with joy-rides, water-rides and swimming pools. Some of world’s most renowned artists like Enrique and Guns N’ Roses have performed in the Palace Grounds, which is used for public events like concerts.
The Sai Baba Ashram in Bangalore is located near the Whitefield Railway Station, thus it is also called the Whitefield Ashram. The Ashram, also known by the name of Brindavan Ashram, was established by Sri Sathya Sai Baba on 25th June 1960. This was the summer home of Baba, who used to spend three months of the year here.
Attracting a large number of devotees from around the world, the Ashram is an abode of peace and spirituality and is located away from the noise and pollution of the city to aid the divinity of the ashram and faith of the devotees.
Sai Baba Ashram has a sprawling campus and is situated approximately 24 kilometres from the city-centre of Bangalore. There are no steps or stairs in the ashram, except in the accommodation quarters. The Ashram is adorned with the following structures used for different purposes.
It is one of the Basilica built over the tomb of an Apostle in the world. It is believed that the remains of St. Thomas were intermed / Buried in this beach in 78 AD, on which a Church was built. Several years later it was shifted to the present location further towards the land. It houses the mortal remains of St.Thomas. Since then this is popularly called as Santhome Church. Pope John Paul II visited and prayed at this tomb on 5th February 1986.
Tudor Ice Company was built in 1842 to store ice blocks. From then it is being called as Ice House even after the company’s closure. Bilagiri Iyengar, a noted Lawyer bought it in 1885 and named it “Castle Kernan” in honour of his Justice friend. Vivekananda stayed at the Ice House between 6 February 1897 to 14 February 1897. Every year this event is celebrated as Vivekananda Nava Rathiri. The pujas and festivals performed by the Ramakrishna Mutt were shifted to New Mutt premises in Mylapore. But the premises continued to be the Memorial of Swami Vivekananda. Later the Government took over the building in 1930. In 1963, on his birth centenary, it was renamed as Vivekanandar House. In 1999, on Centenary of Swamiji’s return to India from the United States, the house was renovated and opened a fresh by the then Chief Minister.
It is a prestigious land mark of the city. British bought this piece of land from the King of Vijayanagar on 22nd August 1639 and built the Fort St. George and named the area as Madraspattinam. St.Mary�s Church built in 1860 is located inside the fort complex.
Kapileshwar temple is known as the Kashi of the south. There is an inscription in the Kamal Basti whichsuggests this temple is one of the oldest in the state and dates back to 1000 AD.The shrine is r everedas the southern equivalent of Kasi—Dakshina Kasi.
Kamal Basadi is located inside Belgaum fort. Belgaum city is a major center and it is well connected through air, train and bus routes. It is easy to reach Belgaum from any spot within or outside Karnataka.
The town of Belgaum dates back to the 12th century AD to the Ratta dynasty. Belgaum was renowned for its trade in diamonds and wood in the past, but today it’s still a commercial hub of Karnataka state. Main features of this town, which is one of our stops on the Deccan Odyssey, is Belgaum Fort, built in the 13th century by Jaya Raya.
Taramati Baradari is located at Ibrahimbagh, on the Osman Sagar (Gandipet) Road, close to Golconda. The complex is spread over a sprawling 7-acre area amidst lush green environs with the backdrop of the famed Golconda Fort. The heritage monument built by the Seventh Sultan of Golconda is accessed from the complex.
Grandeur of rules, glory of its past, glimpse of their enigmatic way of living, are still alive in the form of palaces like Chowmahalla Palace, a place worth visiting when on a Hyderabad tour.
Built in the 18th century, almost 200 years ago, the Chowmahalla Palace is one of the popular sightseeing places in Hyderabad. The literal meaning of this place is “Four Palaces” with “Chow” means four in Urdu and “Mahalat” which is the plural of “Mahalel” meaning palaces. Chowmahalla palace is said to resemble Shah Palace of Tehran in Iran.
It is said that Chowmahalla Palace used to have around 7000 attendants on any given day. For its grandeur and charm, it has been often compared to the Enchanted Gardens of the Arabian Nights for its grandeur.
Golconda is one of the famous forts of India. The name originates from the Telugu words “Golla Konda” meaning “Shepherd’s Hill”. The origins of the fort can be traced back to the Yadava dynasty of Deogiri and the Kakatiyas of Warangal.
The Charminar is as much the signature of Hyderabad as the Taj Mahal is of Agra or the Eiffel Tower is of Paris. Mohammed Quli Qutb Shah, the founder of Hyderabad, built Charminar in 1591 at the centre of the original city layout. Mecca Masjid: A two hundred yards southwest of the Charminar is the Mecca Masjid, so named because the bricks were brought from Mecca to build the central arch. Laad Baazar: This is famous, colourful shopping centre of the old city, tucked away in one of the streets leading off from Charminar.
Located at a distance of approximately 850 metres away from the Banjara Darwaza of Golconda Fort, Qutub Shahi Tombs consist of tombs of seven Qutub Shahi rulers. Considered to be few of the oldest monuments of Hyderabad, these tombs captivate their visitors with the architectural excellence presenting a beautiful blend of Persian and Indian architectural styles. You can see the influences of Hindu, Pathan, Deccan as well as Persian styles in the structure of tombs.
The entrance and corridors of the tombs presents an Indo-Saracenic style of architecture, while ornamental parapets and minarets showcase the Islamic architecture. Two-tiered terraces, false ceilings and central pillars, which form an essential part of the structures, have also been intricately decorated.
Qutub shahi tombs, like the Paigah Tombs are dedicated to the royal family and the rulers of of Qutub Shahis. The structural beauty of these tombs still attracts admirers from all over the world.
This museum houses one of the biggest one-man collections of antiques of the world by Mir Yousuf Ali Khan, Salar Jung III. The objects d’art include Persian carpets, Moghal miniatures, Chinese porcelain, Japanese lacquerware, famous statues including the Veiled Rebecca and Marguerite and Mephistopheles, a superb collection of jade, daggers belonging to Queen Noor Jahan and the Emperors Jahangir and Shah Jahan, Aurangzeb’s sword and many other fabulous items.
Situated on the banks of Krishna River, Kanaka Durga Temple is nestling on top of Indrakiladri hill. The origin of the temple is unknown and it is believed that the deity of the temple is 'Swayambhu', that is self manifested. Hence the deity is believed to be immensely strong.
Kondapalli Fort, also locally known as Kondapalli Quilla, is located in the Krishna district, close to Vijayawada, the second largest city of Andhra Pradesh, India. The historic fort on the hill (Eastern Ghats) located to the west of the Kondapalli village was built by Prolaya Vema Reddy of Kondavid during the 14th century, initially as a pleasure place and a business centre, along with the Kondavid Fort in Guntur district.
As one of the largest one-man collections in the world, the Raja Dinkar Kelkar Museum in Pune is fascinating for its curios and artifacts, ranging from beautifully embroidered textiles to sculptures and antique copper vessels to the swords of the Peshwas. And as you walk through its various sections, history literally comes alive.